Strawberry Pie V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
I took a risk and made this for company without making it for myself first. It was delicious and was gone by evening's end. I like my pies stuffed full, so even though I stuck to the recipe, I used the most of it to fill one pie. I had a small amount leftover that I saved and ate later. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
Yummmm...I've made this twice (when strawberries are on sale! It's very similar to Marie Callendar's strawberry pie. I left the strawberries whole and used only enough glaze to coat the berries and maybe half way up the crust. I eat it with fresh whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fenglinh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsSpice
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
Yummy. I like it even better with a layer of cream cheese on the bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsSpice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2008
I made this as the dessert for a cookout party we had and it was a success but I will make some changes the next time I make it... Firstly, I only used 1 cup of sugar since many reviewers talked about how sweet the original recipe was and 1 cup was not quite enough. Next time I make it I will try using 1 1/2 cups to see if that is adequate. Secondly, I used 5 tblsp cornstarch and the filling/glaze congealed too much as it chilled and became a gel. I think the 3 tblsp would have been enough. I'm getting ready to remake the pies with my suggested changes and we'll see how that goes. All in all, though, it was still darned good and I would serve it again - I just think these changes would make it superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2008
Yummy! Next time I will cut the strawberries in fourths. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
Perhaps I did something wrong or just thought this would be something that it was notit just was not very appetizing ...but on a positive note it was very pretty to look at.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2008
Very good pie recipe. I did add an extra tsp. cornstarch. I did not have a problem with the filling being runny. My family and friends gobbled down and I made two pies!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Camarillo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Heather
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
BOMB!!!! Will be making this one again for sure but might try and make the gelatin sauce a little less firm. I used tbsp. of lemon juice and also used tropical flavored jello since strawberry flavor is not my favorite. Worth making for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
I had high hopes for this pie! I sliced my strawberries instead of leaving them whole. The glaze mix looked firm enough...but after several hours of chilling, I had strawberry pie SOUP! The pie was firmer the next day, but then the crust was soggy and the berries were soft. I don't know if it was slicing the berries that did it or if it was the 2 cups of sugar?? It was VERY sweet and almost tasted medicinal. I took another reviewer's suggestion and added lemon juice, which really helped to tone down the sweetness. Will probably not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middlebury, Indiana, USA
Living In: Atmore, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
I made this and had everyone asking for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bleu

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Strawberry Pie II

You won’t believe how easy, and tasty, this strawberry pie is.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States