Strawberry Pie V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 17, 2009
This recipe is awesome!!!The only thing I did different was to use the Strawberry Daiquiri flavor jello and I cut the water by 1/2 cup. If you like strawberries you have to try this it is restaurant quality for sure and use deep dish pie crusts you will need them!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Branch, Indiana, USA
Living In: Henderson, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2009
This recipe is absolutely WONDERFUL...I made this pie last night and I gotta tell you it is soooooooo good...I'm going to make another one today for my neighbor...I believe she will enjoy this pie as much as I did...I followed the recipe exactly as stated except I boiled the 2 1/2 cups of water BEFORE I added it to the sugar and cornstarch. I also used SUGAR FREE Jello....I had extra strawberry glaze because I only made one pie last night but that was OK with me...I'd far rather have extra than not enough...I covered the berries with as much glaze as my pie shell would hold...This recipe is a definite keeper. Not only is this pie easy to make it is sooooooo yummy...THANK YOU SO MUCH for this recipe...I LOVE THIS PIE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Shelby, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
I topped this with whipping cream and it was a wonderful Strawberry Pie. The only thing I did different was add a dash of salt and a little lemon juice to brighten the flavor as I do with lots of dishes I prepare. Before making this I had read some other recipes and there were comments that they did not make enough filling for 2 pies, so naturally I wondered if I would have enough. Let me assure you that if using bought 9" Deep Dish Pie Crusts (I used Pet Ritz)you will have plenty of filling. My two pies were filled completely full.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
Very tasty. I added a little bit of lemon juice, but otherwise followed the recipe. Oh, and to eliminate lumps, I mixed the corn starch with 1/2 cup of the water before adding it to the saucepan with the rest of the water and sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NanjaLasagna

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
We LOVE this pie! Its so good! Especially with vanilla ice cream. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
I took a risk and made this for company without making it for myself first. It was delicious and was gone by evening's end. I like my pies stuffed full, so even though I stuck to the recipe, I used the most of it to fill one pie. I had a small amount leftover that I saved and ate later. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
Yummmm...I've made this twice (when strawberries are on sale! It's very similar to Marie Callendar's strawberry pie. I left the strawberries whole and used only enough glaze to coat the berries and maybe half way up the crust. I eat it with fresh whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fenglinh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsSpice
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
Yummy. I like it even better with a layer of cream cheese on the bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsSpice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2008
I made this as the dessert for a cookout party we had and it was a success but I will make some changes the next time I make it... Firstly, I only used 1 cup of sugar since many reviewers talked about how sweet the original recipe was and 1 cup was not quite enough. Next time I make it I will try using 1 1/2 cups to see if that is adequate. Secondly, I used 5 tblsp cornstarch and the filling/glaze congealed too much as it chilled and became a gel. I think the 3 tblsp would have been enough. I'm getting ready to remake the pies with my suggested changes and we'll see how that goes. All in all, though, it was still darned good and I would serve it again - I just think these changes would make it superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2008
Yummy! Next time I will cut the strawberries in fourths. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Strawberry Pie II

You won’t believe how easy, and tasty, this strawberry pie is.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States