Strawberry Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
I have never posted a review before, but had to weigh in on this pie. I made the recipe as written (only change was I reduced the sugar to 2/3 cup) and it was the most delicious pie I ever made! It set well after 2 hours in the fridge and was perfectly light and sweet. I made it as a surprise for my boyfriend, who is a passionate strawberry fan, and he raved about it like I'd never seen him rave before. I will be sure to make this pie again for any picnics or cookouts we are invited to for the rest of the summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
I grow my own strawberries in our garden, so this recipe turned out SO good. I will be making this all summer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
I made this exactly as recipe submitted. Made a shortbread type of crust which I baked and cooled. The filling was superb. Actually halved the recipe and made a 4" pie. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Duncan, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
Very good easy to put together recipe. I too added some extra stawberries to the glaze portion, it was really tasty; a pleasant change from the artificial packaged glazes. I also like the fact that one doesn't add red dye, that is just wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
I followed the recipe but accidentally used only 3 teaspoons of corn starch instead of 3 tablespoons as called for, and added a little lemon juice for more flavor. It worked out great. The glaze was a nice translucent red color. I tried to follow the exact recipe (3T corn starch) with added lemon the same as before but wound up with pink glaze. Think I will stick with the 3 teaspoons next time or try some suggestions of the other reviewers to get the nice rich red colored glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
delicious strawberry topping, but the whole pie was a mess. My kids said that Gordon Ramsey would be disgusted at the sight of it, would then taste it and say how good it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2013
Like others, I reduced the sugar to just less than 3/4 cup and water to about a 1/2 cup. I went to the local farm and got fresh picked berries, the juice from mashing them allowed me to reduce the water. I squeezed a little fresh lemon juice while they were cooking - also, I didn't read the whole recipe first and I just dumped the sugar, water, cornstarch and mashed berries all together and cooked the whole thing for 9 minutes at a full boil on medium heat. The reviewer that said it should coat a spoon was correct. Also, you must time the cooking - if the berries don't look like a clear glazed appearance, they're not done! That should help those who ended up with a soupy result. Also, like another reviewer said, don't bother making this unless you get yourself the freshest, reddest, juiciest berries. You will have a much more pleasing result, seriously! We are lucky to have a farm nearby and we freeze berries individually for shortcake throughout the year but nothing is better than fresh strawberries. This recipe is for the purists - no strawberry jello needed. Now I just need to learn to make a 'real' pie crust from scratch and I'll be set!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TARSMOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
Don't skimp on the cornstarch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parksley, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2013
Tastes good, a little on the sweet side, but more than that I wish it got firmer. Definitely easy and few ingredients, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 660) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Strawberry Pie II

You won’t believe how easy, and tasty, this strawberry pie is.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States