Strawberry Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
Pie did not look very good, nothing like the pic. Flavor was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sasksi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by WrennWillard
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
A great recipe!! However I only added 2/3c of sugar. also, I added the mashed berries, water, and cornstarch together first, then brought it to a boil for 2min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
I used frozen strawberries, mashed them up, did all the other steps, and worked out fine!! :D Frozen straw. were so much cheaper then fresh ones (frozen: 3.69 fresh: 5.99). Besides, everyone would have probably eat all the fresh ones! LOL, this is a keeper. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tgu3mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
Not only was this pie easy to make, but it was delicious. We had it for dessert at a family cookout and it received nothing but praise. Great dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
recipe is great as is. Layered fresh banana's on bottom and sprinkled blueberries on top of whole berries then added filling. Awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
Hubs & I went to a boutique this weekend in a quaint town & he spied a strawberry pie - he just had to have a slice! He was so disappointed, not flavorfull at all. Thus I promised to make him the best strawberry pie he'd ever had...(although I'd never made one before!) Yesterday I used this recipe & the family LOVE LOVE LOVED it! I did just see a hint about using gingerale in lieu of water...I think I will try that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
Delicious! I had a deep dish pie crust, so I increased the strawberries to fill the pie (but I kept the other ingredient quantities the same). I used about 3/4 of the strawberries whole in the pie and mashed the other 1/4 of the strawberries. Instead of following the directions as written, I mixed the mashed strawberries, sugar, cornstarch, and water in a saucepan and stirred until it boiled, then stirred for a minute or two more until it thickened. I made two pies and tried pouring the sauce over the berries in the first pie, but it was too thick and it didn't fill in the gaps, so I had to move the berries around to get the sauce to mix into the pie. With the second pie, I mixed the whole strawberries into the sauce in the pan and poured that mixture into the crust, which was easier. I "painted" the inside of the second crust with melted chocolate and let it set (as suggested by other reviewers) before adding the strawberries. It was good with the chocolate, but I think I preferred the pie without chocolate. I didn't try topping the pie with whipped cream because it was so wonderful that it didn't need it. I made the pies in the early afternoon and they were set by the evening. I think this pie will become an annual favorite when U-pick strawberries are in season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
WOW! I didn't expect this to be so incredible (just made it because we picked strawberries and my son had asked for a pie with them). As soon as the crust came out of the oven I sprinkled chocolate chips on the bottom and stuck it in the cooling oven for 2 minutes so it was easy to spread ... no soggy crust and no worries about the holes from my shrunken crust (unusual, but I don't normally prebake them either). We used about 2 1/2 cups of smashed berries that I pureed to have a smooth consistency ... and took a previous review's suggestion to combine the sugar and cornstarch to avoid lumps. Just dumped everything together in a pot and simmered it for 10 minutes. No need for whipped cream because it's absolutely amazing as is! Thanks OKBEE. Definitely a keeper :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
I loved this recipe. It was easy to make and really delicious. The only change I made was to paint the bottom of the pie shell with some melted chocolate, as another reviewer suggested. I must say that I didn't like the taste of the chocolate with the strawberries and that's saying something, as I am a real chocoholic. I will try painting the base with a little egg yolk next time. Thank you for the wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
The only change I made was to sub in Stevia/sugar blend in place of the sugar, 1/2 cup for the equivalent of 1 cup of sugar. The pie turned out wonderfully but even my kid thought it was too sweet. Will cut down the sweetener next time. Mine set up pretty firmly in about 90 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 673) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Strawberry Pie II

You won’t believe how easy, and tasty, this strawberry pie is.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States