Strawberry Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 26, 2015
I didn't have enough strawberries on hand so I used rhubarb. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2015
The flavor was wonderful-the family loved it. Although it didn't make the crust soggy, it just didn't set up as well as I would have liked. I think it depends on how juicy the strawberries are. I let the cornstarch mix boil for 10 minutes, so I'm sure it was thoroughly cooked. Next time, I will take that into account and add more cornstarch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamacitaTee

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 23, 2015
We thought this pie was delicious! I think I will use more strawberries next time because I wanted more of the mashed and the whole! I went a little short on the sugar and thought it could have used the whole cup, so next time I'll adjust all of that (or use a smaller pan). And there will be a next time! Yum! Thanks, OKBEE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cynthia Ross
Reviewed: May 21, 2015
This is why I LOVE allercipes.com: YOU! You gave me pictures and suggestions that helped me create a LOVELY pie! I used a little more than 2 one-pound containers of berries. Brushed a layer of ganache on the interior crust. (Handful of chocolate chips, dash of cream, pat of butter.) Started with one layer of sliced berries, added the mash (which I allowed to cool,) then added another layer of berries. Several home cooks arranged the berries very neatly on top. I liked the way that looks, so I did it, too! The whip cream is home-made. Added powdered sugar to stabilize and sweeten it. Garnished with mint, because it's a nice contrast to the red filling. This is a stunning pie, and it is the taste of summer! Five stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia Ross

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beverly Hills, California, USA
Living In: San Angelo, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2015
This has become my go-to recipe during strawberry season! You may want to play around with it a bit -- as the recipe stands, is too sweet for my taste, and I have found 2/3 c sugar to be plenty. I also add a thin layer of mini semi-sweet chocolate morsels on top of the baked pie crust before adding the strawberries -- delish! People always rave about it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2015
This was my first strawberry pie so I was looking for a simple recipe with out a lot of additives,I try to make all my pies as natural as possible. I was a little hesitant because it seemed so basic as compared to some others I had looked at but decided to give it a try. Well I see why it got 5 stars,it was delicious.The only thing I will change when I bake the next one is instead of putting whole berries onto the crust I will cut them in half,just a personal preference. PS: If you got a soupy filling you either left out the corn starch or didn't cook it long enough,mine gelded up perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robert Anderson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
I made the recipe as-is and it tasted pretty good. I don't think anyone was overly impressed. It was really more like strawberry soup than a pie. Still, it tasted fresh and the homemade whipped cream made it a tasty finish to an Easter meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
This is great!! Used chocolate on the crust, and by the way a qt of strawberries is about 1.5lbs. I sliced my strawberries in my mushroom/egg slicer, picked out the pretty ones for the crust and what was left went in the sauce. I also used my immersion blender to blend, mixed all together and then boiled. As other reviews noted I also added a few drops of lemon juice and a pinch of salt. Well this time I decided to cut back on the water as others suggested, oopps!! not enough, had to rush and make more sauce very fast, thankfully it tasted like the first batch. Lesson learned, rather have more than I need than not enough. Left overs make good jam. You can also test your sauce to see how it will set, put on a cold plate, or dip on a spoon lay on some ice, and see if it sets, if not probley needs longer cooking, also taste before it gets to hot to see if you want more sugar or what. Next time I think I might try adding some vanilla. To bad I had to use my xtra strawberries to make more sauce, I was planning on dipping them in the left over melted chocolate to top my pie with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi Kviten

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smyrna, Georgia, USA
Living In: Austell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2015
This was the first time i ever did a pie and it turned out great! I agree with everyone else that you should go less with the sugar. I put less sugar than the recipe called for and it turned out just perfect as far as sweetness. My hubby was so impressed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2015
I am lazy but have so many compliments on my strawberry or blueberry pies.just use the glaze in Publix good or homemade crust. I either put fresh whip cream on the top of each piece and \or softened cream cheese spread on the bottom of the cooled crust before filling. Then chill for an hour or so. Not actually healthy but sooooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 694) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Strawberry Pie II

You won’t believe how easy, and tasty, this strawberry pie is.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States