Strawberry Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 12, 2013
Made exactly per instructions and it was perfect. I brushed the stored bought pastry with egg whites before baking to keep the bottom crust from getting soggy. The very taste of SUMMER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ttkc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 4, 2013
Made this for my mother-in-law's birthday. First strawberry pie I've ever made or eaten, but it was a BIG hit. I love finding a recipe that such a hit on the first try. It was so good we had to make another whole pie and it turned out just as good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Superior, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
Next time I would cut the uncooked strawberries into bite-sized pieces so my young children could eat them more easily. Loved the taste though, and this was a big hit with my family. I used up leftover strawberries before they went bad, and had all the rest of the ingredients in my kitchen already.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
Taking a cue from others who had added a layer chocolate to the crust before filling it with berries, I cut the sugar to 3/4 cp and lined the crust with some dulce de leche I had left over from a mixed berry pie. Delicious! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
I love to bake but the only person I have to share my goodies with is my boyfriend so I cut the recipe down to two servings. I used Mom's Pie Crust from this site and baked it in muffin tins. If you do this make sure you prick your crust so it doesn't puff up. I followed the recipe to a t except for the strawberries, I just eyeballed that and I added some lemon zest. I mashed the strawberries until I got the consistency I wanted and put them and the cornstarch mixture into the pot. The mixture thickened in less than 10 minutes so I didn't really time it out. When it felt thick enough I put the mixture into the pie crusts over sliced strawberries. I left them in the fridge for about four hours and they were perfect. My boyfriend liked this pie better than the Chocolate French Silk I made the night before!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
My mom and daughter made this today (probably with more strawberries that were called for - and they cut them up). Delish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Blanchard Angell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mason City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Photo by Lindsey
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
I didnt really enjoy the gelatinous aspect of this recipe and I used double the strawberries and kept some of them halved (I was going for a Marie Callendars Fresh Strawberry pie look) see my pic! Also this pie really only seemed to keep for 1-2 days before the berries got too juicy and the gelatinous stuff started to turn an opaque purple color....icky But it tasted great the very first day. Overall I doubt I will use this recipe again, maybe just a simple syrup glaze over the berries next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vista, California, USA
Living In: Upland, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
I modified and used the 3/4 cup sugar, 1/2 cup water. I also sliced the strawberries layered them on bottom and chopped the rest. This is my new favorite pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Port Washington, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
This pie is wonderful and so easy. I also made this recipe with 1/2 Splenda and put it in a graham cracker crust! Marlene
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
Great recipe! Took advise of other reviewers and coated pie crust with chocolate--no soggy crust! Will make again, thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 662) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Strawberry Pie II

You won’t believe how easy, and tasty, this strawberry pie is.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States