Strawberry Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
It tasted good, but I couldn't get it to set up. This is the third recipe I've tried that uses cornstarch to thicken a pie, and it has never turned out. I think I must be doing something wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2013
I modified this recipe to make it a simple low sugar recipe In a separate bowl I mixed 1 c of Splenda, 3-4 Tblsp of corn starch, 1/2 tsp salt and 1/2 tsp cinnamon. Blended together pour mix over fresh strawberries sliced in half. Pour into the pie crust. Add either a full crust or lattice cover. Delish! It is definitely a fresh fruit pie - no gel. We loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2013
Liked this a lot. I omitted the water though. Added a small squeeze of lemon juice instead of water. Otherwise it's too runny and won't thicken properly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
This is soooo delicious, I'm obsessed with it - it's so easy to make! Eased up on the sugar quite a bit - to about 3/8 of a cup, and used half a cup of water as others suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 27, 2013
omg!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! this is the best strawberry pie ever just made it this morning for a cook out at my dads and everyone loved it t deserves way more then five stars. the only thing i did different was blend all my ingredients in blender before putting in sauce pan it turned out awesome. thanks so much for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2013
Very easy. Like others, I used 1.5 times the amount of berries called for overall, and used less in the cooked portion (but plan to try the original amount in next batch of pies). I also reduced the sugar content just a smidge as well. Was inspired by another recipe to stir in a bit of cinnamon and vanilla just before pouring into the crust. Made 4 last night in under an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
Made exactly per instructions and it was perfect. I brushed the stored bought pastry with egg whites before baking to keep the bottom crust from getting soggy. The very taste of SUMMER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ttkc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 4, 2013
Made this for my mother-in-law's birthday. First strawberry pie I've ever made or eaten, but it was a BIG hit. I love finding a recipe that such a hit on the first try. It was so good we had to make another whole pie and it turned out just as good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Superior, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
Next time I would cut the uncooked strawberries into bite-sized pieces so my young children could eat them more easily. Loved the taste though, and this was a big hit with my family. I used up leftover strawberries before they went bad, and had all the rest of the ingredients in my kitchen already.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
Taking a cue from others who had added a layer chocolate to the crust before filling it with berries, I cut the sugar to 3/4 cp and lined the crust with some dulce de leche I had left over from a mixed berry pie. Delicious! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 658) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Strawberry Pie II

You won’t believe how easy, and tasty, this strawberry pie is.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States