Strawberry Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
This tasted great but I wish I would have modified the recipe per the reviews. I like to try recipes as is first. I made this exactly as the recipe says and it never thickened up for me. So I have a really yummy strawberry soup in a pie crust =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Bud, Illinois, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
I made this, with a few modifications thanks to other comments, and in one case, my own preferences. Use ginger ale instead of water to make it a little sweeter.. and less sugar. Mix everything together in a pan and bring to boil, instead of in two sections, just make sure to stir constantly! I also added just a few semi-sweet chocolate chips to the pan to add just a little extra flavor, to match the chocolate pie crust I went with, instead of the traditional. It came out awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ally_Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sutton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cindy_richelle
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
Love this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cindy_richelle

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Michigan City, Indiana, USA
Living In: Coventry, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
This recipe didn't work for me. My pie looked great, I put it in the fridge overnight and the next day it was soup! I was so embarrassed since I made it as a favor for a friend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
Excellent! I kept 3/4 of the strawberries fresh and mashed 1/4. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy Stewart

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbiana, Alabama, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
Near perfect as written..but I added a couple tbs lemon juice to give it a slight ruhbarb-like sourness and a tiny bit more corn starch...then I piped on some fancy whipped cream till it was covered. My family of 9 loved it, xhose it over birthday cake. This is a million times better than using that strawberry glaze-in-a tub, whixh tastes like syrofoam. Thhis was soooo easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
Great recipe. Very easy to make. My entire family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Fantastic start to a great chocolate strawberry pie. Found that next time I will use 2 qts of berries, and double the cornstarch because I found that overnight the pie had leaked liquid. Enough to cover the 1/2 pie plate that was free of pie. Did BTEAMMOM's suggestion and covered baked crust with melted chocolate. And mashed 1/4 of the berries like others suggested. Others suggested slicing rest of berries. Half of those remaining berries went into the chocolate covered crust, then sprinkled chocolate chips over that, then poured 1/2 of the mixture over that. Repeated the process, which was no big deal as the strawberries were already sliced. Put in tooth picks and covered with plastic wrap and into the frig. When set, put Cool Whip over all, and Wah-lah! It was adored by 5 yr old granddaughter who, for the last 3 years, has insisted on a strawberry-chocolate pie for her overnighter with us!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Woodinville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
Decent flavor, but it wouldn't set. I returned it to the pot and tried to thicken it with more cornstarch and still no luck. My kids were looking forward to this too, but we were all very disappointed. We had just gone strawberry picking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
This recipe is great! It was easy and my whole family enjoyed it. It was not too sweet and not too sour. I loved it and will now make this every Thanksgiving and maybe even more often than that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 658) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Strawberry Pie II

You won’t believe how easy, and tasty, this strawberry pie is.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States