Strawberry Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Talena
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2015
I followed others suggestions to only use 1/4 of the strawberries in the simple syrup and was happy with the results although this pie really needs more than 1 quart of strawberries. The filling didn't come close to reaching the top of the pie crust leaving a lot more crust than pie. Next time I will use at least 1 more pint of strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Talena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Santee, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2015
I made it per the recipe. If I make it again, I will use half the sugar and twice the berries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tloft

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2015
I used a graham cracker crust I had on hand and added melted chocolate to the bottom of the crust. Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2015
Made this pie for several friends and everyone loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2015
Yummy! I followed the recipe but used about 1 1/2 Qts of strawberries. I always cut the ones for the pie in half because it's difficult to eat whole ones. Mine set up perfectly, I added a few drops of red food coloring to the mixture after it was thickened & let it cool a bit before pouring over strawberries, no soggy crust!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K8BUG

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Quartz Hill, California, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2015
Came out great for me. Made it as listed except that I bought ready made whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2015
Simple and perfectly delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GayleR.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midwest City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Buckley, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mary Rudis
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2015
I've been making open face fruit pies for a long time but this was my first attempt at strawberry. Here is how you adjust the recipe for a 10 inch pie shell. Use 2 quarts of strawberries. Just under a quart is needed for the glaze and the rest should be washed and towel-dried gently, especially if very ripe. Just over a quart is reserved and kept whole/uncooked Increase the amount of sugar to 1 1/4 cups (you really don't want to double this) Increase the amount of cornstarch to 6 level Tbsp (I measured 5 without leveling) Increase the amount of water to 1 cup + 2 Tbsp In order to achieve the result as pictured, after "cooking" the mashed strawberry mixture, it is necessary to strain it into a bowl, leaving most of the seeds/pulp and using only the gelatinous, translucent portion. Also, I strongly recommending cooling the cooked mixture to room temperature (or even cooler) before mixing with fresh strawberries. I also highly recommend mixing the gelatin with the strawberries prior to placing in the pre-cooked pie shell. This will help form a more solid "filling" and prevents the strawberries from "cooking" and getting too mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Rudis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2015
I didn't get the pretty glossy red glaze color that I see in most of the pics. But it still tasted great and set up nicely. Thanks for the tip to prevent a soggy crust -- I melted choc chips in the bottom of the just baked crust and cooled in fridge before filling. Also let the filling cool. Next time I will try mixing it with the strawberries before filling the crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2015
It tasted like strawberry jam, not really what i was hoping for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 702) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Strawberry Pie II

You won’t believe how easy, and tasty, this strawberry pie is.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States