Strawberry Orange Rhubarb Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
Very easy to make and surprisingly good. I'm not a fan of strawberries or rhubarb but like this cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
Loved it! The orange zest gives it a fresh flavor. Only problem is the rest of the family didn't really enjoy it. Rhubarb, you either love it or hate it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karenrf

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
I baked this cake as recipe called, but substituted dried orange peel. Absolutely delicious! My husband, small children, parents and relatives visiting from Europe had nothing but high praise for this recipe. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
Excellent just as written. By the way, "6 stalks" of rhubarb means 3 cups of it (diced or chopped), as a cooking standard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aschenputtel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2009
Very Good! I mixed the orange zest in with the strawberry/rhubarb mixture instead of the batter. It baked up perfectly! I will definately make again! Great served with a dallop of French Vanilla Coolwhip! Thanks for sharing---Cathy H.!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DARLENE1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
This was very good! The only change I made was to increase it 50% and bake it in a 9 by 13 pan. I didn't even need to bake it longer. It was sooooooo delicious that I had to pass it along to my Amish neighbor who is an excellant baker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLAIRE CALDERONE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
This was very good. Next time I will use less sugar, and possibly try substituting lemon zest for orange.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
Was super-easy to make and turned out fabulous! I only had a 8x8 pan so I spooned some of the extra fruit and batter into a few ramekins and baked them alongside. These turned out even better, since the crust got a bit crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2008
Quite delicious! This was the first thing I ever made with rhubarb, and I was impressed. I didn't have oranges at home so I substituted lemon zest for the orange. I think the dish came out perfectly. The crust was evenly brown, sweet, and crisp. The fruit/sauce was mildly sweet and very tasty. Thanks for a very nice recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SQUEAKYCHU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
I made this for my picky in-laws and it was a hit! Even my husband liked it who is also a picky eater. Great with whipped cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Rhubarb Strawberry Crunch

The rhubarb and strawberry dessert is sweet enough and goes great with ice cream.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States