Strawberry Orange Rhubarb Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
I made this with a jar of strawberry rhubarb preserves and it turned out wonderfully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: May 2, 2008
This is delicious. If you like strawberry rhubarb pie, you'll probably like it. I didn't really taste the orange flavor, but that could be because I didn't have fresh orange zest and had to use dried. Despite that, though, this cake is very light and refreshing. I like the fruit and it'll go into my few beloved cake recipes of applesauce cake and carrot cake (I'm not a big sweets fan). I used a bundt pan and it worked just fine. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SUNDROPFAIRY
Reviewed: May 10, 2008
MMMMM...this was great!!! I made it at work for a group of 20 people, I tripled the recipe and baked it in a full size hotel pan. I needed 2 tablespoons of orange zest, but only got 4 teaspoons from the orange I had, so I used 2 teaspoons of orange extract to make up the difference. I added 1/2 teaspoon of ground ginger (will add more next time)to the flour mixture, and also substituted part of the all-purpose flour with stone ground whole wheat flour to up the nutritional value. The cake did take about 20 minutes extra to bake. I think next time I'll bake at 375 instead. I served it warm with a swirl of whipped topping on top. Delicious! *** I recently made this exactly as written and it was fantastic. A keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUNDROPFAIRY

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Morrison, Illinois, USA
Living In: Manhattan, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
I made this for my picky in-laws and it was a hit! Even my husband liked it who is also a picky eater. Great with whipped cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
This was very good! The only change I made was to increase it 50% and bake it in a 9 by 13 pan. I didn't even need to bake it longer. It was sooooooo delicious that I had to pass it along to my Amish neighbor who is an excellant baker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLAIRE CALDERONE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2009
Very Good! I mixed the orange zest in with the strawberry/rhubarb mixture instead of the batter. It baked up perfectly! I will definately make again! Great served with a dallop of French Vanilla Coolwhip! Thanks for sharing---Cathy H.!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DARLENE1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
Excellent just as written. By the way, "6 stalks" of rhubarb means 3 cups of it (diced or chopped), as a cooking standard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aschenputtel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
I baked this cake as recipe called, but substituted dried orange peel. Absolutely delicious! My husband, small children, parents and relatives visiting from Europe had nothing but high praise for this recipe. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
Loved it! The orange zest gives it a fresh flavor. Only problem is the rest of the family didn't really enjoy it. Rhubarb, you either love it or hate it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karenrf

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
Very easy to make and surprisingly good. I'm not a fan of strawberries or rhubarb but like this cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Rhubarb Strawberry Crunch

The rhubarb and strawberry dessert is sweet enough and goes great with ice cream.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States