Strawberry Orange Rhubarb Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 31, 2009
Excellent just as written. By the way, "6 stalks" of rhubarb means 3 cups of it (diced or chopped), as a cooking standard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aschenputtel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: May 2, 2008
This is delicious. If you like strawberry rhubarb pie, you'll probably like it. I didn't really taste the orange flavor, but that could be because I didn't have fresh orange zest and had to use dried. Despite that, though, this cake is very light and refreshing. I like the fruit and it'll go into my few beloved cake recipes of applesauce cake and carrot cake (I'm not a big sweets fan). I used a bundt pan and it worked just fine. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
This was very tasty! At first I was thinking the fruit would end up inside the cake somehow, but it stays on the bottom - sort of like an upside down cake. I haven't really baked with strawberries or rhubarb, and I was hoping the fruit would retain it's color somewhat, but it turned light pink - at first I was disappointed in the appearance, but it still tasted good. The orange flavor comes through nicely - without being too "fruitcakey" - and compliments the strawberries and rhubarb perfectly. Served with real whipped cream - pretty sure I'll make this one again! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
This was very good! The only change I made was to increase it 50% and bake it in a 9 by 13 pan. I didn't even need to bake it longer. It was sooooooo delicious that I had to pass it along to my Amish neighbor who is an excellant baker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLAIRE CALDERONE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SUNDROPFAIRY
Reviewed: May 10, 2008
MMMMM...this was great!!! I made it at work for a group of 20 people, I tripled the recipe and baked it in a full size hotel pan. I needed 2 tablespoons of orange zest, but only got 4 teaspoons from the orange I had, so I used 2 teaspoons of orange extract to make up the difference. I added 1/2 teaspoon of ground ginger (will add more next time)to the flour mixture, and also substituted part of the all-purpose flour with stone ground whole wheat flour to up the nutritional value. The cake did take about 20 minutes extra to bake. I think next time I'll bake at 375 instead. I served it warm with a swirl of whipped topping on top. Delicious! *** I recently made this exactly as written and it was fantastic. A keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUNDROPFAIRY

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Morrison, Illinois, USA
Living In: Manhattan, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
My mother-in-law is diabetic so I completely replaced the sugar with Splenda and it turned out wonderful. It would be interesting to see how that changes the nutritional info.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
Very, very good! I recommend this to anyone who loves strawberry rhubarb pie. The orange zest adds a little kick to this very moist cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2011
This was good, but too a little too sweet. I had more rhubarb than the recipe called for, about 6 cups (and used a 9x13 pan) but didn't increase the sugar and still thought that I should've used less sugar. I loved the orange flavor, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
This is a wonderful cake so light and fresh tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2008
Quite delicious! This was the first thing I ever made with rhubarb, and I was impressed. I didn't have oranges at home so I substituted lemon zest for the orange. I think the dish came out perfectly. The crust was evenly brown, sweet, and crisp. The fruit/sauce was mildly sweet and very tasty. Thanks for a very nice recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SQUEAKYCHU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Rhubarb Strawberry Crunch

The rhubarb and strawberry dessert is sweet enough and goes great with ice cream.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States