Strawberry Orange Rhubarb Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
I made this for my boyfriend's birthday, he was so impressed and grateful he was nearly in tears! The orange zest added a unique flavor to help make this a grown-up version of the birthday cake. I used a 9x13" pan and added 50% more of each ingredient (5 cups of rhubarb), per another reviewer's suggestion, and it came out perfectly. Every oven is different, so this may be irrelevant, but the cake was done 6 minutes early.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
Simple, quick and delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
This was really great. I used 2 cups of strawberries and 3 cups of rhubarb. I like the little orange flecks in the cake. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maicalani

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2011
This was good, but too a little too sweet. I had more rhubarb than the recipe called for, about 6 cups (and used a 9x13 pan) but didn't increase the sugar and still thought that I should've used less sugar. I loved the orange flavor, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
This is a wonderful cake so light and fresh tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
My mother-in-law is diabetic so I completely replaced the sugar with Splenda and it turned out wonderful. It would be interesting to see how that changes the nutritional info.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
Very, very good! I recommend this to anyone who loves strawberry rhubarb pie. The orange zest adds a little kick to this very moist cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
I gave this 5 stars for taste. It's a little messy serving to guests but once they taste it I don't think it matters what it looks like. A great combination of flavors for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
There is really nothing I would change in this cake! The only thing I did to make it a like more healthful was to substitute some of the white flour with whole wheat...they'll never know the difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZAPATISTA234

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
I made this with a jar of strawberry rhubarb preserves and it turned out wonderfully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States