Strawberry Orange Banana Smoothie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
This was a good, refreshing smoothie that was easy to make with ingredients we almost always have at home. It is not as creamy as those make with yogurt and/or milk, but definitely easy and quick. After a taste test, my only change was adding some more fruit to take away some of the tartness of the orange juice. I could have drank it either way, but my daughter preferred it, (and I agree), with a few more strawberries and touch more banana. Also, if you are looking for that slushy texture, but don't want to water it down with too many ice cubes, use frozen bananas & strawberries... you could even freeze some OJ in ice cube trays! We might try that! Overall, a good, quick, easy way to get in a great serving of fruits!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becca's Mommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Simi Valley, California, USA
Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
Yummy! I added a few more strawberries, used a frozen banana and omitted the ice cubes. Plus, I used organic, whole orange juice (not from concentrate, which typically has added sugar). It was only slightly sweet, not tart; the perfect accompaniment to lightly savory sandwiches. And a great way to get in lots of healthy fruit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CATWOMAN1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Carmichael, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
I used a frozen banana which eliminated the need for ice. This was delicious! NOTE: I'll use this recipe for a summer yogurt pop, just add a cup or so of greek yogurt. I bet that would be really tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
Hubs drinks a lot of smoothies, and most are just, well, a smoothie. This, to him, had definite distinction. It was flavorful, refreshing, pleasantly sweet, a litte tart, and creamy, even tho' there is no cream, milk or yogurt in it, which in by book is refreshing enough in itself. Because I used both frozen strawberries and bananas I added no ice which in turn made the flavor particularly intense. If you prefer something a little more subtle, be sure to include the ice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by tarasilver
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
I doubled the ingredients, and it made two full tall glasses.I used frozen strawberries, which made it thicker, but not too thick. I found it very good, but there is a bit of a bitter after taste, which is why i gave it 4 stars. Over all, a great refreshing drink. Would be great on a summers day. (If you use frozen strawberries, do not use ice.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tarasilver

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
Amazing! I added some sprite and lemon zest too!!!! yum yum yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
yummmmmmmmmy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Erimess
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
I'm sorry but I just did not care for this one at all. I didn't use the ice at all because all my stuff was frozen. I think that the banana was indeed too strong. I guess I felt like this could have used the yogurt - I'm really not sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erimess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
awsome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
This smoothie has surpassed my expectations of it by far! To be honest, I'm really not a fan of orange juice and I worried that this would taste really tart. But curiosity got the better of me, and I'm glad it did! It's a perfect combination of sweet and tart. I used frozen strawberries and omitted the ice and the consistency is lovely. Great recipe, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kristiansand, Vest-Agder, Norway

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Strawberry Oatmeal Breakfast Smoothie

See how to make a rich and creamy fruit smoothie with no dairy.

B and L's Strawberry Smoothie

Fresh berries, skim milk, plain yogurt, and vanilla make a 5-star smoothie.

How to Make Strawberry Smoothies

Watch how to make a healthy yogurt and strawberry smoothie in your blender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States