Strawberry Onion Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2007
This was very tasty. Similar to another salad I make in the summer. This dressing I thought was better than using a premade poppy seed dressing. I cut the sugar to only 2 tbls and it was still plenty sweet. I added walnuts as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2006
This is great; I just made it for the second time for an Easter lunch. I do find it too sweet, though, so this time I've cut the sugar a little. My suggestion is to add the sugar last and do it to taste. Also, if you don't have to have quite so many poppyseeds if you don't have them. 1 Tbs. would be plenty. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
We LOVED this salad!!! I didn't have poppy seeds on hand. The dressing would've looked pretty with them in. Added some chopped pecans for crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Loved the dressing used 1/2 of the sugar called for and it is still very sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kuebel4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blanco, Texas, USA
Living In: New Braunfels, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
did everything as instructed with the exception of reducing the sugar to 1/4 cup and this was a wonderful salad! would have definitely been too sweet with more sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2002
OUTSTANDING! You wouldn't expect the flavors to blend,but when I made this, everyone wanted the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
I was surprised how good this was, and the dressing was good as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Moizzle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glen Burnie, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
The best salad ever!!!! I always make this for bbq's and it's always gone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
Kinda of wish I'd liked this more. The dressing is good, but not unique; as with other sweet mayo/red wine vinegar dressings I've tried, I didn't even come close to using the called-for amount of sugar. (Normally I do try to follow recipes as written, but I also know our tastes.) My husband and I agreed that we sort of wished there were something else in the salad, but neither of us knew what; with such a creamy dressing, cheese would be redundant, and nuts didn't quite seem right. Cucumber maybe, or apple? Anyway, this is totally fine and made for a nice change, but I doubt we'll make it again. Thanks anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Paltz, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
Made this according to directions except cut the poppy seeds in half, and it was wonderful. The dressing was a hit, and the flavor of the salad was very pleasing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Spinach Salad I

This bright and tangy salad is sweet and savory, and just delicious.

Spinach and Strawberry Salad

Mix the colors and flavors of summer and enjoy.

Judy’s Strawberry Pretzel Salad

See how to make an astonishingly delicious dessert salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States