Strawberry Onion Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
did everything as instructed with the exception of reducing the sugar to 1/4 cup and this was a wonderful salad! would have definitely been too sweet with more sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
The best salad ever!!!! I always make this for bbq's and it's always gone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2009
This salad is sooo good! Yes, the dressing is sweet (which I love). I am going to use the leftover dressing on another salad (maybe with a little chicken) tonight. Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by magikhnz

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsHappyHomemaker
Reviewed: May 15, 2009
I decided to try this with having a surplus of strawberries right now, and I was surprised at how good it was! I made it exactly as written - and my whole family (hubby & 2 picky kids) really liked it. Next time I will use maybe one onion slice per salad though as it was just too much for us all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsHappyHomemaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Staley, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Asheboro, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: May 3, 2009
Wow! This was really good. Used apple vinegar instead of what was stated and reduced the amount of sugar. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kiren K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2008
Didn't make this in individual bowls as recipe called for, put into a decorative glass serving bowl, and tossed 1/2 of the onion and strawberries into the lettuce, and put the other 1/2 on top. Made the dressing about 4 hours before eating, and drizzled over right before serving. Think this is a "girls" salad, because we had 4 couples and the women thought it was great, and the guys all did definitely not like. The description of the recipe was right on though, it sounds really gross when you see the ingredients, but you have to try to see how good it tastes. Tasted fine the 2nd day also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aberdeen, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
This was very tasty, but also a little too sweet for our family. Next time I would add about 1/2 as much sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Parksville, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2007
This was very tasty. Similar to another salad I make in the summer. This dressing I thought was better than using a premade poppy seed dressing. I cut the sugar to only 2 tbls and it was still plenty sweet. I added walnuts as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2007
It was a hit - didn't change a thing. Update: If you are watching calories you might want to switch to this one. I've made so many of the strawberry spinach salads from this site and love them but I'm using this one now because of the calories (or lack of them). I even halved the sugar in this and used raspberry vinegar and it is still wonderfully sweet. Thanks submitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2006
This is great; I just made it for the second time for an Easter lunch. I do find it too sweet, though, so this time I've cut the sugar a little. My suggestion is to add the sugar last and do it to taste. Also, if you don't have to have quite so many poppyseeds if you don't have them. 1 Tbs. would be plenty. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Spinach Salad I

This bright and tangy salad is sweet and savory, and just delicious.

Spinach and Strawberry Salad

Mix the colors and flavors of summer and enjoy.

Judy’s Strawberry Pretzel Salad

See how to make an astonishingly delicious dessert salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States