Strawberry Oatmeal Breakfast Smoothie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2003
I absolutely love smoothies!! They are one of my favorite breakfast items....except I made this one for my lunch today. I love the oatmeal in it, but think that 1/2 a cup is a little too much. I used quick cooking oats since that's what I normally have on hand and substituted a container of strawberry yogurt for the strawberries. I have not been able to find a decent batch of strawberries yet this year. They are not sweet for some reason, so I'm a little hesitant to buy them. Anyway, the oatmeal made this smoothie VERY filling and I too omitted the vanilla and sugar since I used vanilla flavored soy milk. Great new find...thanks Astrophe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
636 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2002
I put the oats in first and ground them fine. It was great!!! Very filling and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
555 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2005
GREAT! i loved this recipe it was wonderful. it make the oatmeal less grainy, i put that in the blender first and pureed it until it was powdery, then added the rest of the ingredients. its so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
441 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2005
FABULOUS! I have never tried a smoothy with oatmeal! Who'da thunk! Well this is great. I also tried a variation of using fresh juice in place of the soymilk. Fresh pineapple juice was especially yummy! Also, when you use juice in place, no sugar or vanilla is needed. Thanks for this great idea. I am thinking of trying wheat flakes too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
185 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2002
This is a great morning smoothie. If I don't have frozen strawberries I make sure the banana is frozen.. one of them has to be or else it is too liquidy. Also, substituting half the strawberries with peaches is a great combo too. This recipe says 2 servings, but really it's the size of a regular smoothie you'd get at a place like Jamba Juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
164 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
I ran the oatmeal through my blender before adding the rest of the ingredients. I used a frozen banana as well as the frozen strawberries and used whole milk. (We don't drink soy.) I thought it was good, as did my kids. The sugar wasn't really needed, IMO, as I felt it was sweet enough on it's own. It's just a personal preferance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
151 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2005
This is delicious! I grind up the oatmeal in the blender first and sometimes use a combination of frozen strawberries and peaches. I love the thick texture the oats give it, and it's very filling. My boyfriend begs for these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
106 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
Pretty good! I cut this in half and used skim milk instead of soy. It's very filling - I love the strawberry banana combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2003
Being a chocolate lover, I didn't try this recipe as written, though it does sound good. I used chocolate soy milk instead of regular, and in place of the sugar, I used chocolate milk powder. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
I LOVE this smoothie! I've made it literally hundreds of times since I first found it two years ago. It has just the right amount of sweetness, and it's thick and filling with the strawberries and oatmeal, so I often have it as a meal . Like others, I always process the oats first to a powder. I then add the milk, and I add just enough strawberries to meet the level of milk instead of counting them, since the size of the strawberries often varies. I find this gives it just the right consistency every time! Thanks for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 659) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Strawberry Oatmeal Breakfast Smoothie

See how to make a rich and creamy fruit smoothie with no dairy.

B and L's Strawberry Smoothie

Fresh berries, skim milk, plain yogurt, and vanilla make a 5-star smoothie.

Basic Fruit Smoothie

Fresh fruit, fruit juice, and ice—that’s all there is to it!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States