Strawberry Oatmeal Breakfast Smoothie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
This recipe is awesome! As a few others have done, I ground the oats to a fine powder first. But then I blended my silk vanilla soy milk with it before adding the fruit. It blended much better this way. I also omitted the vanilla extract because I used the vanilla soy milk. This was very fulfilling it kept me energized right through to lunch time. One thing I will say is if you aren't really an oatmeal person I suggest using a little less than what the recipe calls for because you can really taste the oats, not more than the strawberries and bananas though. Added bonus: this is a great recipe for those who are lactose intolerant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
This was tasty but not a favorite for me. The banana was very overpowering and the oats were weird in texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
This was good, not great. Next time I think I will replace the milk for oj.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JZINOLA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sunnyvale, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
I didn't like this much when I first tasted it, but it grew on me. I don't know if I'll make it again. It was fairly bland (but some people would like that, and I expected it from the ingredients). The oatmeal didn't grind up very well. I think the instructions should tell people to blend the oatmeal first and then add the other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Huskerbeck
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
Fast, easy and tasty! It's a meal in a glass. I used 2% milk in place of soy milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
I left out the sugar, but this was still plenty sweet. The kids didn't realize that it had oatmeal in it, but I thought it was a bit grainy tasting but not too bad. I blended longer than usual, too. I will make this again, maybe trying that trick from another reviewer about soaking the oatmeal in milk first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennifer_a00

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
This is a great recipe. I just made it and it is a very delicious drink and meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
I've been having this smoothie for breakfast and lunch for 2 weeks. It keeps me full, it's yummy, and I've already lost 7 pounds! I change up the fruit, replacing the strawberries with raspberries or blueberries. I also leave out the vanilla and sugar since I add a container of honey or vanilla Greek yogurt for extra protein. I also use regular milk since I don't tolerate soy well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
I tried this several weeks back, and fell in love with it. I make as a daily breakfast. It fills me up because I am working on getting healthier. I don't even need to use vanilla extract or sugar. I use frozen whole strawberries, and I add a banana and a orange to it, with oats, and almond milk. It's yummy, I recently got a family member wanting to try it out to. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
I loved this smoothie and will make it again. Instead of adding the vanilla I used vanilla soy milk. I've been trying to eat more oatmeal and was wondering what I would do when the weather got warmer. Now I have an option.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 714) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Oatmeal Breakfast Smoothie

See how to make a rich and creamy fruit smoothie with no dairy.

B and L's Strawberry Smoothie

Fresh berries, skim milk, plain yogurt, and vanilla make a 5-star smoothie.

Basic Fruit Smoothie

Fresh fruit, fruit juice, and ice—that’s all there is to it!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States