Strawberry Oat Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 24, 2008
These are great muffins - moist, not too sweet. I added chopped pecans. And easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2008
Very yummy, I used half whole wheat flour and replaced the brown sugar with sucanut/rapadura (healthy brown sugar). They were moist, delicious and I could have eaten all of them. They didnt rise all that much but I wouldnt say they were flat, just fill up your muffin tin almost to the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2008
the only changes I made were substituting half the flour for whole wheat, half the oil for one over-ripe banana, and adding a dash of cinnamon. These were moist and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sioux City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2008
Just had to update my review. This has become one of my FAVORITE muffin recipes of all time. I make them with whole wheat flour, finely chopped walnuts and blueberries usually, but often stick with strawberries, too. I make them for company, too, and they're always a hit. Such a great, nutritious recipe! Thanks for sharing. --------------------------------------------- I really enjoyed this recipe. The flavor was excellent, and I think this batter could be a great base for things besides strawberries--like cranberries or blueberries...You could really get creative. DH came home from surfing and ate 5 of these in one sitting! LOL. I will definitely be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
Good recipe. Eat right away - they kind of get soggy if put in a zip loc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Piscataway, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Broomfield, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
Yum! I subed 1/2 cup whole wheat flour for the white, egg beaters and 1/4 cup of applesauce for the oil. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waynesburg, Ohio, USA
Living In: Canton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
A great muffin! I replaced the oil with unsweetened applesauce and threw in a handful of sliced almonds. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STibbs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lyman, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
With the exception of adding 1/4 tsp. of cinnamon just as a taste preference, I guess I'm one of the few who made this recipe as written--no substitutions, no modifications. (Cornstarch in a muffin batter?) Even after mixing them up, baking them and, finally, eating them, I can confidently tell you these are a perfect strawberry oatmeal muffin, and the recipe needs no tinkering or tweaking to make them so. Tender crumb, just the right amount of sweetness for a muffin, beautiful light brown color, and bursting with plump little chunks of red strawberries. These are perfectly rounded, moist and delicious with a pleasant and delicate pairing of the oatmeal and strawberry flavors. Thanks for sharing the recipe for these Wendy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
130 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
I really enjoyed these muffins, very moist. I made a few changes... I added a tablespoon of corn starch, put a tsp. of baking soda, used applesauce instead of oil and used whole wheat flour instead of white. (Also added a dash of cinnamon and nutmeg) So, so good. Only thing, the dough around the strawberries turned sort of dark purple. Maybe because of the corn starch? Dispite the odd color, it was wonderful. I will make this again! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bryant, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
This is my new favorite muffin recipe! I used organic wheat flour instead of all-purpose flour, apple sauce in place of vegetable oil, and skim milk instead of buttermilk. I added blueberries, raspberries, and blackberries along with the strawberries in different batches...they all came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Oat Muffins

These muffins are a quick, easy treat for breakfast any day.

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States