Strawberry Oat Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2008
Amazing muffins....I made one batch following the recipe exactly (which I never do) and they were amazing. I also made a batch substituting 2/3 cup mushed very ripe bananas for the strawberries and added 1 teaspoon cinnamon and 1/2 teaspoon nutmeg...they were the best. I loved the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missygail

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Mannford, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
These muffins are fabulous! I used frozen strawberries and added 1/4 teaspoon cinnamon to the flour mixture (thanks naples34102). Remember if you don't have buttermilk you can use 1 cup yogurt OR 1 tablespoon lemon juice or vinegar plus enough milk to make 1 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marisa Taylor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
My husband and I really liked this recipe. I made it exactly as stated, and it came out fine. Next time I will probably try substituting 1/2 whole wheat flour and using some sugar substitute. I think some cinnamon would be a good addition as well. The recipe made 30 mini muffins, which I baked for about 13 minutes. You could use this recipe with pretty much whatever fruit or nuts you have on hand or prefer, and it will come out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs_kylee

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2008
Delicious! I loved the texture of the oats and the flavor of the strawberries. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
I made these muffins this morning and they turned out moist. I was a little afraid because I don't usually like strawberries baked in things because of their tendency to get mushy. I chopped the strawberries small to avoid big, mushy pieces. The muffins had a good flavor, kind of like strawberry jam baked into the muffin. I have had better muffins (ones with more butter/sour cream) but these are very good considering they are a little lower in fat. Because they were so moist, I might try reducing the oil a little next time. I doubt I would miss it. I also made it all in one bowl. I started with the oatmeal/buttermilk, let it sit a few minutes, added the wet ingredients on top, blended well, and then added the dry ingredients on top of that. I stirred just until moist and then folded in the strawberries. They were fine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
I'm going to say i was disappointed. Strawberry muffins just never turn out good! the muffins became too moist and mushy by the end of the day. Mine also turned out gummy like some reviewers said.. but i dont think that is the fault of the recipe. i wanted to be healthier so i substituted yogurt for the oil. the yogurt is what makes for a gummy treat. If there is such a thing as strawberry extract i would use them in these because it lacks the flavor or fresh strawberries. sorry but this was no good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2008
These are wonderful! I use wheat flour, splenda for the sugar, and fat-free buttermilk. I think this makes them taste even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ErinKaren

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
These were excellent. I might try them next time with peaches. I also might substitute yogurt for the buttermilk. This is an excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
Very easy and quick, delicious. came right out of the nonstick muffin pan and i was glad not to use baking cups. these are definitely worth dirtying 3 bowls in preparation. the second time i made them with canned pears also awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clonmel, County Tipperary, Ireland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
DELICIOUS. Hopped online to find a good way to use my farmer's market strawberries for breakfast. Glad I looked no further! I can't help but fiddle... so I subbed half whole wheat flour, used Lactaid instead of buttermilk, sprinkled in some cinnamon + nutmeg and added chopped walnuts. Baked 20 mins= turned out scrumptious. Think I'll go grab one now...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Oat Muffins

These muffins are a quick, easy treat for breakfast any day.

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States