Strawberry Oat Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
Wonderful recipe! I added a 1/4C applesauce for half the oil, used egg whites only and whole wheat flour and finally added 1/4 to 1/2 tsp cinnamon. In one batch I added a bit more than a cup of freshly cut strawberries and in the other blueberries. Both came out wonderfully flavorful. These are yummy and super healthy and pass wonderfully for comfort food so my family loves them! If you are looking for something healthy AND tasty then this is it but if you want a more pastry-like fluffy muffin to indulge your sweet tooth, then you might not like these. A useful hint is not to use the really juicy strawberries because they will turn to mush and make the muffins too wet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
I made the recipe exactly as stated. I didn't like these. The strawberries became moosh and rather unflavourful (my first time baking with strawberries and possibly my last) and the muffin was too soft-- like perhaps it needed more flour to firm it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JPMJ

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Comox, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
this is a sweet and very moist muffin! I added about a 1/2 tsp of cinnamon for taste. next time I might bake them a few mins longer (I hate a dry muffin, so I always take them out a little early, especially the first time I'm trying a recipe). I think I might add maybe 1/4 - 1/2 cup more oats. I'll be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MIKALA79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
Excellent! Moist, just the right sweetness. My 10 month old devoured it! Used milk/vinegar substitution for buttermilk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eldorado, Illinois, USA
Living In: Palatine, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
I thought these were good, but next time I will stick to the recipe as is without tweaking as others have suggested. This time around I used 1/2 white and 1/2 wheat flour and the wheat taste was just too overpowering. They tasted "healthy." The muffins were VERY moist and fluffy, so next time I will just stick to the original recipe. Thanks swizzlesticks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
The first time I tried this recipe, I followed it almost exactly, with the exception of using 1/2 white and 1/2 wheat flour, and frozen strawberries. The batter was very soupy, and the muffins were caved in at the top, and very moist. I would probably have abandoned it had it not tasted so good -- I really wanted to make it work, because the strawberry/oat/brown sugar combination is great. to the recipe as shown, I *added* the following: 1c wheat flour, 1/4t baking powder, 1 egg, 1/4c brown sugar, and 1/2t vanilla. I set my oven to 350F and let the oats soak for 10 min. This time, the muffins are muffin-shaped and still have that great texture with plenty of moisture. Batter was also easier to work with. I tried it with blackberries this time around, but I wouldn't recommend it; definitely going back to strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
Just not very impressed with the taste of these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TXmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Richland Hills, Texas, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
These were pretty good. I just love the strawberry/buttermilk combo. A little oily, could maybe cut down on that a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HARTMR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
These were OK, i used half wheat flour, they don't rise much, and mine too were mushy in the middle. Kids didn't mind though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracee Workman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greensburg, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
they came out gooey and I followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Oat Muffins

These muffins are a quick, easy treat for breakfast any day.

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States