Strawberry Oat Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
Deliciously moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
Very good. I used frozen strawberries, with very good results. Also instead of buttermilk I used powdered milk and water, in a ratio richer than the standard ratio. So about 3/4 C dry milk to 1 cup water instead of 1/3 C dry milk to 1 cup water. This added just a little richness without fat (non-fat dry milk). Great recipe - thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
Really good. I used a mix of frozen strawberries and blueberries. My husband is a diabetic so I replaced the white flour with Whole Wheat Pastry. For the sugar I used 1/4 cup packed brown sugar & 2/4 c. Splenda. I sprinkled in some of my homemade Pumpkin Pie Spice and 1/2 cup walnuts. It only made 10 muffins so I must have made mine bigger. Good snack for hubbie though, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
I don't make muffins very well, I usually overmix the batter. 3 things happened with this recipe - I intended on doing it by the recipe. 1 I oversoaked the oats, I think it just made them softer and they rather disintagrated when I mixed them in. 2) didn't have buttermilk so I did the vinegar in milk - does that change the flavor? 3) I didn't have brown sugar so instead I used the same amount of white sugar as called for. It turned out to be a lovely muffin and I could have eaten the whole batch by myself. It's sweet enough but not overly sweet.. I'm sending this recipe to my friends via facebook..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
Wonderful recipe! I added a 1/4C applesauce for half the oil, used egg whites only and whole wheat flour and finally added 1/4 to 1/2 tsp cinnamon. In one batch I added a bit more than a cup of freshly cut strawberries and in the other blueberries. Both came out wonderfully flavorful. These are yummy and super healthy and pass wonderfully for comfort food so my family loves them! If you are looking for something healthy AND tasty then this is it but if you want a more pastry-like fluffy muffin to indulge your sweet tooth, then you might not like these. A useful hint is not to use the really juicy strawberries because they will turn to mush and make the muffins too wet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
I made the recipe exactly as stated. I didn't like these. The strawberries became moosh and rather unflavourful (my first time baking with strawberries and possibly my last) and the muffin was too soft-- like perhaps it needed more flour to firm it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JPMJ

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Comox, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
this is a sweet and very moist muffin! I added about a 1/2 tsp of cinnamon for taste. next time I might bake them a few mins longer (I hate a dry muffin, so I always take them out a little early, especially the first time I'm trying a recipe). I think I might add maybe 1/4 - 1/2 cup more oats. I'll be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MIKALA79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
Excellent! Moist, just the right sweetness. My 10 month old devoured it! Used milk/vinegar substitution for buttermilk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eldorado, Illinois, USA
Living In: Palatine, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
I thought these were good, but next time I will stick to the recipe as is without tweaking as others have suggested. This time around I used 1/2 white and 1/2 wheat flour and the wheat taste was just too overpowering. They tasted "healthy." The muffins were VERY moist and fluffy, so next time I will just stick to the original recipe. Thanks swizzlesticks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
The first time I tried this recipe, I followed it almost exactly, with the exception of using 1/2 white and 1/2 wheat flour, and frozen strawberries. The batter was very soupy, and the muffins were caved in at the top, and very moist. I would probably have abandoned it had it not tasted so good -- I really wanted to make it work, because the strawberry/oat/brown sugar combination is great. to the recipe as shown, I *added* the following: 1c wheat flour, 1/4t baking powder, 1 egg, 1/4c brown sugar, and 1/2t vanilla. I set my oven to 350F and let the oats soak for 10 min. This time, the muffins are muffin-shaped and still have that great texture with plenty of moisture. Batter was also easier to work with. I tried it with blackberries this time around, but I wouldn't recommend it; definitely going back to strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Oat Muffins

These muffins are a quick, easy treat for breakfast any day.

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States