Strawberry Oat Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
Had a hard time cooking these all the way through and still after 25 minutes the strawberries were making the inside soft. I guess the cornstarch others recommended would eliminate this. I will try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Beausoleil First Nation, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
My family LOVED these muffins. And they are so healthy in comparison to normal muffins that are filled with sugar. I also took some of the advice of other reviewers and used 1/2 cup of AP Flour + 1/2 cup of Whole Wheat Flour. Everything else I left the same. So good. These are definitely going to become a staple in our house. A fabulous way to use up strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Conroe, Texas, USA
Living In: Humble, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
After trying multiple muffin recipes this season, I am so glad I stumbled on this one! It is moist but in a climate like ours where it is VERY dry, that is a good thing. I changed very little but did double the Baking powder (a trick I learned from my Newfie friends) so they rise better. I also added Raspberries as I didn't have a full cup of strawberries, Wonderful! Next will be to try it with whole grain flour instead of white and apple sauce instead of oil. Oh yeah...and blueberries! What a great base recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
These are AMAZING!!!! I used 1/2 whole wheat flour for the AP. I will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MK!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edison, New Jersey, USA
Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
Having followed the recipe just as written, I would give these 3.5 stars. They would not brown up on the top crust as nicely as I would have liked and were a little 'too' moist and delicate. They might actually benefit from the addtition of some whole wheat flour for part of the white. The flavor was fair, being just a little flat, despite the large amount of salt called for. Though lacking somewhat in flavor overall, they were indeed too salty. In short, if I made these again, I would include those changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
Good. My boyfriend LOVED these. I recommend making your chopped strawberries VERY small. Mine were too big and left big gaps, weird shapes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Living In: San Ramon, Alajuela, Costa Rica

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CupcakePolly
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
these are really good. They had a nice strawberry flavor. I did use quick oats since that is all i had and i added 1/4 tsp of cinnamon (that another reviewer had done) because it sounded good. Just be sure to let them cool or around the strawberries will be mushy. They're not bad mushy either if you don't want to wait lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CupcakePolly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waycross, Georgia, USA
Living In: Monroe, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
These were good. Very tender and moist. The only changes I made was using low-fat buttermilk because it's all I had, using dried strawberries and adding frozen blueberries. They were prepared really quickly which I like, they were ready to bake in the time it took for my over to pre-heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
Wonderful muffins, thank you! Everyone at work was pleased. These are moist and sweet, very simple to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Oat Muffins

These muffins are a quick, easy treat for breakfast any day.

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States