Strawberry Oat Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
these are very tasty. My kids love them. I put raspberries instead of strawberries with 1/4 cup chocolate chips. I've also made them with 3/4 cup raisens and 1/4 cup choc. chips. And with 3/4 cup cranraisens and 1/4 cup choc. chips. Think the ones with raspberries and cranraisens would also taste great with white choc. chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2007
These are great muffins. Hearty, but not heavy. I added some wheat germ into the mix, and used half wheat flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mays Landing, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2007
I MAID THESE LAST NIGHT AND THEY ARE GREAT, I DON'T USUALLY EAT SWEETS BUT THESE HAVE JUST THE RIGHT AMOUNT OF SWEETNESS. I DIDN'T HAVE BUTTERMILK SO I MIXED SKIM MILK WITH 2 TABLESPOONS OF VINIGAR. I DOUBLED THE RECIPE AND MADE LARGER MUFFINS AND BAKED FOR 50 MIN. WILL MAKE AGAIN!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2007
Yumm! As others suggested I made a few changes: juice of 1/2 a lemon and 2%; cut the oil in half and used a 1/4 cup cinnamon applesauce (great flavor!), zest of my 1/2 lemon, 1/4 tsp. ground nutmeg, a generously rounded tsp. cornstarch, and about 2 Tbsp of flax seeds for a healthy kick. I used a bunt pan instead of muffin tins and it was ready in about 17 minutes. I want to try it with whole wheat flour. But it was gorgeous when it came out of the oven, a good gooey center, not too mushy but I might add a little more cornstarch next time to combat my juicy berries. I will defiantly make this again, perhaps with cranberries and orange zest! Okay I just had to come back to change my rating, I did the recipe again same as above except this time with a Tbs of corn starch, FANTASTIC!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2007
I made the recipe exactly as written and we really enjoyed the result. Sure, a little soft, but we don't mind that at all. I'm afraid, though, the moistness might not work with freezing these, so I am going to add 1 T of cornstarch next time. I'll also try the recipe with blueberries when those are in season, and I'll used whole wheat flour, 1/2 the amount the next time and then the full amount after that...just because it might make for more fiber.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2007
the muffins have a good taste, but like everyone else is saying, the centre of the muffins are mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2007
Wonderful! I followed the advice of other reviewers and added 1 tsp of corn starch and 1 tsp of cinnamon. I was all out of vegetable oil, so I used olive oil - I didn't notice any taste difference. :) Otherwise, no changes. They came out light, fluffy, and with nicely rounded tops. This is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Billerica, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2007
Strawberries came out mushy, muffins were heavy, ended up throwing them away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
This was definitely a keeper - but I DID make some changes: As suggested by others, I added some corn starch. I then doubled the baking soda. I used a white/whole wheat blend (altho next time I may go all whole wheat. I used vanilla soy milk with a tbls. of cider vinegar instead of buttermilk, which I seldom have on hand. Because of that, I did not add vanilla. I did, however, add a lot (how much?) cinnamon and nutmeg. Also added coarsely chopped pecans and tried go-go berries instead of raisins or craisins. Finally, I added an equal amt of maple syrup instead of sugar. These came out a tad too sweet for me, but hubby loved them. I used just-bought fresh strawberries and they were not at all mushy. The consistency was perfect, the tops were rounded. Next time I will use whole grain flour, apple sauce or bananas instead of oil, and I will mix/match nuts & dried fruit. But definitely a keeper. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2007
I've substituted several fruits (mostly berries) and had equally good luck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Banana Oat Muffins

These muffins are a quick, easy treat for breakfast any day.

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States