Strawberry Nut Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
The paper cups in which I baked the muffins came out drenched in oil and the muffins themselves were dry crumbles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
I made these muffins exactly to the recipe. They were oily and not thoroughly baked after 17 minutes. I had planned on taking them to a meeting, but not the way they turned out. I dumped them in a bowl; figure maybe I could use them as a cobbler. I believe the 1 cup of oil is too much. A disappointment for All Recipes. Everything else I have tried through the years have been very good. Recipe says 1 doz, but also mentioned 2 pans....I made 12 large, and 12 mini muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
These tasted great though I think I would use less oil, they are very greasy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
While the recipe was very good, I found them to also be very oily. Next time I am going to try it with less!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
Ok you guys, I got it. I tried this recipe on a whim this morning as I went strawberry picking yesterday and the muffins are FANTASTIC!!! Follow the recipe as is (I used a little less sugar as my strawberries are very sweet and ripe),use a smidgen more cinnamon and only use 1/4 tsp. nutmeg. As suggested my a previous reviewer use 1 egg, 1/4 cup oil, and 1 cup milk. Also mix in 1 and 1/4 cup chopped strawberries and 1 cup finely chopped (use food processor) pecans. Use muffin tin liners and fill to top, quickly mix up heaping tbs. of flour, heaping tbs brown sugar and 1 tbs butter, mix until crumbly and sprinkle on top. *This crumble is magic, it wont stay on top, but sinks in a bit for a delicious little extra oomph! BAKE FOR 20 MIN. And voila! Moist, cakey, strawberry-y muffins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BanannaNut

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
Very nice basic muffin, with an overly nutmeggy taste (will need to decrease that next time). Substituted 1 cup applesauce for the oil, and they came out very moist. Took about 18 minutes to bake. Will see what the others think tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
I thought this was a simple easy recipe and the muffins turned out well. I used chopped almonds because I prefer those to walnuts. They are not overly sweet which I think is a strong attribute considering this would typically be a breakfast item but when I brought them into the office, I sprinkled some powdered sugar on them for presentation and to ensure I met sweet expectations from fellow colleagues!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
I had exactly a cup of berries left over from a dessert, so I thought I'd try this recipe. I halved the amount of oil and replaced it with mango-applesauce. I was wary of the baking time indicated, it seemed too short. It took 20 minutes for the muffins to be ready. The recipe made 16 muffins. I thought they were "okay", however, my son loved them and ate three in a row. I might make them again, but I would add more of the cinnamon and nutmeg, and add a cinnamon-sugar topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2008
I took the advice of other reviewers and basically came up with a much altered recipe but very yummy according to my guests. I used half whole wheat flour for health. To equal same amount of liquid I used 1 egg, 1/2 cup oil, 3/4 cup milk, and 1/4 cup apple sauce. Baking time was 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
very moist, good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Misavice Pabón

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Palatine, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Aunt Norma's Rhubarb Muffins

Rhubarb, walnuts, and a sweet, crunchy topping make a magical muffin.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States