Strawberry Nut Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
Good base recipe, it was just what was looking for. I wanted a simple recipe that i could easily modify. I used half the nutmeg called for, used 1 1/2 cups of rhubarb instead of strawberries, added an extra pinch of baking soda, added a teaspoon of vanilla extract, and 1 envelope of raspberry jello (strawberry is good too but i didnt have any), I dont really like nuts very much so I didnt put any in but i did top it with some brown sugar, I also had to bake for about 20-25 minutes. I will definitely use this recipe agian.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
The paper cups in which I baked the muffins came out drenched in oil and the muffins themselves were dry crumbles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
I made these muffins exactly to the recipe. They were oily and not thoroughly baked after 17 minutes. I had planned on taking them to a meeting, but not the way they turned out. I dumped them in a bowl; figure maybe I could use them as a cobbler. I believe the 1 cup of oil is too much. A disappointment for All Recipes. Everything else I have tried through the years have been very good. Recipe says 1 doz, but also mentioned 2 pans....I made 12 large, and 12 mini muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
These tasted great though I think I would use less oil, they are very greasy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
While the recipe was very good, I found them to also be very oily. Next time I am going to try it with less!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
Ok you guys, I got it. I tried this recipe on a whim this morning as I went strawberry picking yesterday and the muffins are FANTASTIC!!! Follow the recipe as is (I used a little less sugar as my strawberries are very sweet and ripe),use a smidgen more cinnamon and only use 1/4 tsp. nutmeg. As suggested my a previous reviewer use 1 egg, 1/4 cup oil, and 1 cup milk. Also mix in 1 and 1/4 cup chopped strawberries and 1 cup finely chopped (use food processor) pecans. Use muffin tin liners and fill to top, quickly mix up heaping tbs. of flour, heaping tbs brown sugar and 1 tbs butter, mix until crumbly and sprinkle on top. *This crumble is magic, it wont stay on top, but sinks in a bit for a delicious little extra oomph! BAKE FOR 20 MIN. And voila! Moist, cakey, strawberry-y muffins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BanannaNut

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
Very nice basic muffin, with an overly nutmeggy taste (will need to decrease that next time). Substituted 1 cup applesauce for the oil, and they came out very moist. Took about 18 minutes to bake. Will see what the others think tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
I thought this was a simple easy recipe and the muffins turned out well. I used chopped almonds because I prefer those to walnuts. They are not overly sweet which I think is a strong attribute considering this would typically be a breakfast item but when I brought them into the office, I sprinkled some powdered sugar on them for presentation and to ensure I met sweet expectations from fellow colleagues!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
I had exactly a cup of berries left over from a dessert, so I thought I'd try this recipe. I halved the amount of oil and replaced it with mango-applesauce. I was wary of the baking time indicated, it seemed too short. It took 20 minutes for the muffins to be ready. The recipe made 16 muffins. I thought they were "okay", however, my son loved them and ate three in a row. I might make them again, but I would add more of the cinnamon and nutmeg, and add a cinnamon-sugar topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2008
I took the advice of other reviewers and basically came up with a much altered recipe but very yummy according to my guests. I used half whole wheat flour for health. To equal same amount of liquid I used 1 egg, 1/2 cup oil, 3/4 cup milk, and 1/4 cup apple sauce. Baking time was 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Aunt Norma's Rhubarb Muffins

Rhubarb, walnuts, and a sweet, crunchy topping make a magical muffin.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States