Strawberry Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: May 7, 2012
Five stars for basic recipe with the highly recommended modifications from other cooks: 1/4 C less flour, add 1/4 C brown sugar, 1/2 tsp (+) vanilla, 1/2 tsp (+) cinnamon. I also added the optional cup of milk chocolate chips. Very tasty! I ended up with 10 good sized muffins after the additions. I also didn't slice the strawberries since many people said they didn't like their texture after baking. I gave mine a fairly small dice, then sprinkled them with sugar and let them sit for about an hour. You still get definite bites of berry, but the texture is not so mushy. I can see adding pulverized oats and/or wheat germ to the next batch. I will definitely make this again. It would be good with just about any berry. Great way to use up fruit that's almost past its prime, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MonroeMomma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monroe, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
I took other suggestions and reduced the flour by 1/4 cup and instead added 1/4 cup brown sugar. Then I did some cinnamon and nutmeg. Finally, added some vanilla to the liquid and the recipe went from good to stellar. yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
I doubled the recipe and added 1/2 cup brown sugar and 1 tbs vanilla essence and 2 cups chopped Strawberries. It came out moist and delicious. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
Just made this recipe added 1/4 cup brown sugar and 1 tsp of vanilla as other reviewers said . YUMMY they are so good also didn't use muffin tin just buttered 13by9 glass pan. Sooo good. also took stick of butter and 3 fresh strawberry s mixed together with 4tsp sugar in the processor. thank you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LILMRSGINA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
I made these muffins as is. I didn't have canola so I used vegetable oil. Don't think that made a difference. I used thawed frozen strawberries. I added cinn/sugar to some tops and that made them better. the last 4 I added 1t vanilla and a strussel topping and that made them even better. The batter itself is ok. I think next time I will keep the vanilla in and mix cinnamon in with the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
I really loved this! I made the recipe as is increased to 12. Newly trying my hand at baking. Next time I will use less flower. They were kinda heavy, dense. I'll add vanilla, as well. Otherwise they were amazing! Definitely keeping this one around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
I replace the milk with the equal amount of yogurt and white sugar with brown sugar. The muffins were wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
My friend and I made these yesterday's easy to follow recipe very good with coffee! Highly recommend this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
Loved them! Just the right sweet and soft. Perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
Um, it wasn't that this was a bad recipe, but that me and the family messed up a bit on these... Let's start with we made 72 cupcakes at once.... and then we took out some sugar... substituted in some crushed hazelnuts... you know, the usual mess ups... Still tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 659) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Morning Glory Muffins I

Make a morning muffin that’s loaded with good stuff.

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States