Strawberry-Mint Soda Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
I hate to give this recipe such a bad rating, but I must. This was NOT a good recipe. I would have to recommend people to try a different one. It had a limey tang that left my mouth bitter. After adding about another two cups of sugar, I added apple juice. It tasted a better, but it still left a soury-bitter taste in my mouth. It also had absolutely no mint, though I used mint leaves from our backyard and didn't know how much "1/2 a bunch" was. I hate to give it a such a bad review, but I was very upset after slaving over it for half an hour and getting what I got.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eponine

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
the first time I made this it wasn't very good it was too sweet and it took forever using a muddler so the next time I made it I coarsely blended the lime juice, strawberries and mint then added half the sugar and carbonated water and it was delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara Jorgenson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marysville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
Great tasting. I did use 1 lime and 1-1/2 tablespoons of lime juice; doubled the amount of strawberries. The drink had a great strawberry flavor with just a touch of enough lime. Will definitely make again for a hot summer night in Florida.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lockport, New York, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
I served it at my daughter Bday party in a punch bowl added cream soda to it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2009
I followed others' suggestions of only adding one lime -- next time I will add both as the recipe says. I could hardly taste the lime. I did go easy on the sugar, because I tend to like my drinks unsweetened. I found that the strawberry flavor was sort of lost in there, so I would definitely double up on those next time. After mashing everything together, I poured the soda into the pitcher and let it sit in the fridge for several hours (I did stir it occasionally). I did wish the strawberry flavor was more intense, but overall, yummy, refreshing summer drink! Everyone wanted seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wiley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Middletown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
This okay, I recommend only using one lime and going easy on the sugar. Also next time I won't leave the limes in the soda, after a half hour or so it started tasting of lime peel. Thanks for the recepie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meagan Wilson

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Orangeville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
Yum - and limey! I don't know what a 'real' strawberry Mojito is supposed to taste like, but this stuff is good. I strained mine through a fine seive to get out the pulverized bits and did take the previous reviewers suggestion of a teeny bit of red food coloring. I forgot to sugar my glass, but it looked pretty with some sliced strawberries and mint leaves floating in it and was plenty sweet. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
This was a tasty recipe and one that I'll definitely make again. Go easy on the lime--1 probably would have been more than enough! Also, be warned that the mint leaves will turn the soda a brownish-pink color. If it bothers you, try adding a drop of red food coloring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Soda Syrup

Beat back the heat with ice-cold homemade strawberry sodas and lemonade!

B and L's Strawberry Smoothie

Fresh berries, skim milk, plain yogurt, and vanilla make a 5-star smoothie.

Strawberry Oatmeal Breakfast Smoothie

See how to make a rich and creamy fruit smoothie with no dairy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States