Strawberry Meringue Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
This cake is AMAZING! Everyone loves when I make this! Its full of flavor but not too rich. Great for Summer! Caution: Do not use ready whip. Will soak into the cake and ruin it. Also not a cook cake to transport unless you add the whip and put it together when you get to the party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
Right now this is my favorite cake. It is so flavorful and delicious. I love it. Could eat it... everyday! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate Fitzgerald

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by parothstein
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
Absolutely delicious!! Made it exactly as recipe read...would highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by parothstein

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mundelein, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lindenhurst, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
Made this today for a friend's birthday and she loved it and so did I. Had tried joyofbaking recipe before also and prefer this one. It was tough to get the cakes out of the pans, am wondering if cutting parchment paper would be a good idea? I made half the whipped topping and just topped with powdered sugar and fresh strawberries. The powder sugar was unnecessary since the cake is just sweet enough but not bad. I could really taste the orange zest. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lurabare
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
beautiful, super moist & delicious! Some reviewers said this was difficult & messy--it was easy & breezy..my 3 year old son made this with me for my MIL birthday..it was a huge hit! My only suggestion is to really make sure the cakes cool well before adding the icing because otherwise it kinda melts! If mashing the berries is too messy, you could try my method of pureeing them in a vitamix or good blender for about 10 seconds
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lurabare

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
This cake is absolutely wonderful. Wow, everyone loved it. Also it is so pretty. Love to bring it out and hear the WOWs The only thing I changed was I cut down on the sugar. Other viewers were saying it was hard to get out of the pans so I used parchment paper. Worked great. After I slide the knife around the sides it just dropped out. I am certainly going to make this again. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BLUEICE
Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
I'm giving this recipe 5 stars because it sounds amazing/exactly what I was looking for!! I was looking for a cake for my daughter's 3rd birthday, and fresh strawberries were a requirement because her b-day is in June, and we are going strawberry picking right before her birthday. As a recommendation for the meringue to keep it from falling, once the meringue is done baking, turn off the oven and let the cakes sit in the oven overnight if possible. This way the meringue will dry out and you will get a crunchy meringue layer. Yummy!! I'm really looking forward to making this cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
I have made this recipe quite a few times and I make it exactly as written. I don't understand others problem with having too much batter so they decreased the amount. Most all cakes do rise above the pan. I also do not find it messy. It is a very easy cake to make with great results. Try making first as written. I think you'll be happy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
This cake is amazing especially if you have lots of really fresh strawberries. After reading other reviews of how this cake expanded, I decided to cook only half the mix. I used two yolks in the mix along with just over half a cup of orange juice. Didn't have an orange so used lemon rind. I still used two glass round pans will sprayed with Pam and used 3 egg whites for the meringue. I decreased the whipping cream to 1 and a half cups and had plenty. I will definitely make this cake again and will try with raspberries and blueberries during their seasons. I'm not sure how you would fit it if you used the whole mix so I'm glad I only used half. Served 8 with no leftovers. Just too good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
My sister always asks for this cake on her birthday and it never fails to please. I would like to be able to have home made whipped cream added to this recipe. If anyone has any suggestions I would appreciate it. All and all, this cake is too awesome to pass up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States