Strawberry Marshmallow Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
I love this recipe. I think I may know what is happening with the "wispy thread". If you are holding your spoon over the pan of boiling sugar and water, the steam melts the thread. You have to drip it from the spoon away from the saucepan. I hold it over the pan's lid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by your mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Tukwila, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
I made this with cherry jello and it was very good. I did not have corn syrup so I added 1/4 tsp of cream of tarter to the egg whites. I boiled the syrup in the microwave in a glass measuring cup for easy cleanup (about 10 minutes) I also used a stand mixer.It made SOOO much frosting though. It frosted a whole sponge tube cake (glorious sponge cake from this site)with enough frosting so you could not see the hole (at least 2 inches of frosting) and had enough left over for a whole large cool whip container. I would try half the recipe next time. My son has alread requested orange jello frosting. So much easier than traditional seven-minute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Colebrook, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2007
its funny...i thought the frosting wouldn't turn out right but it turned out perfectly! the sugur that i was supposed 2 boil over the stove, got clear once it started to boil.. but it wouldnt get to the stringing whispy consistance when dripping from a spoon. and i wasnt going to wait for it to turn into rock candy! so i took it off a couple mins after it got clear. and then mixed in the strawberry gelitin and whipped the egg whites into the sugar mixture for about 5 mins and it turned out perfectly! very rich but not that overfilling feeling after eating marshmallows. PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
Wonderful recipe! I've never made a boiled frosting before, so this was a first attempt for mer, and it turned our great! I used unrflavoured gelatin and added a little vanilla to the finished product, and it tasted exactly like marshmallow (except even better!) The author is right when she says to use it right away. I put it in the fridge for a little while to use for later, and it set up so that it was too thick to spread. But heating it gently over some simmering water in a double boiler got it thin enough so that I could spread it. I also used it as a "cream" filling for some chocolate cupcakes and every body loved it. Thank you, your mom!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valentine de Villefort

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2007
It was really good especially on tres-leches cake because the cake itself is rich. The frosting is sweet but not too sweet and I used sugar free strawberry gelatin and it came out great. I'm using that again on my tres-leches cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Busy Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
Must have done something wrong. The frosting turned into rock candy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
I had trouble with this -- couldn't find a thermometer, and the stuff in the pot never formed a "wispy thread", so I kept cooking...and it thickened almost to a solid and I had to toss it and start again. I did eventually get it, and it came out okay, but I don't think I'll make this again -- it's just too artificial-tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
Recipe turned out wonderful. Very easy to make, took about 10 minutes to get the syrup right. Made enough for a very large angel food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookiegirl40

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Stanwood, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
I didn't think this was going to turn out, but surprisingly it did and it was DELICIOUS. It tastes like a strawberry sucker! I wouldn't recommend using this to frost a layer cake, becuase its so gooey that it kind of just slides off. It gave me some trouble..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingGreen
Home Town: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2007
This was so gooey and sticky and sweet, yum. I used blueberry jelly, topped icecream cone cupcakes with sprinkles on top - looked just like little icecreams and the kids loved them. I overcooked the first batch and had to start again. I found that when it was ready when it bubbled heaps and became thick and more syrupy, rather than stringy. Would definately use again. Don't know what to do with the left overs though?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Strawberry Jam

This recipe for fresh jam couldn't be easier—just three basic ingredients!

Fresh Strawberry Sauce

See how to make a simple strawberry sauce for cheesecakes.

Strawberry Pretzel Salad

It's salty! It's sweet! Your family will love this dessert salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States