Strawberry Margarita Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
Made this cake for my sister's bridal shower in August, it was a huge hit. Now, I made it into cupcakes for my church group - bake for 15 mins at 350 and used lime jello mixed into the cool whip for the frosting with sliced strawberries on top - super yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Bend, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
This was really delicious; however, I forgot about the lime zest. Next time, I will use strawberry Cool Whip and add fresh strawberries on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PaulaF

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
I would give this 3.5 stars actually. I did not go the whipped topping route for the frosting, I made a lime buttercream that was a really good compliment, and made cupcakes. The recipe was easy and got really good reviews from others, my reason for only 3.5 stars instead of 4 or a full 5 is because I would have preferred a more pronounced strawberry & lime flavor to the actual cake itself. It was good, but didn't pack as much flavor as I had hoped for. Also, the cupcakes were a tad dry/crumbly, which I think may have been because of the use of egg whites and not the whole eggs, but then again, at the time I made these I was still getting use to using a new oven - convection at that, which was totally new to me, so that could have been my issue and not the cake, so I won't count off for that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by gopintos
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
So yummy and moist. Was not a crumb left!! I don't know how it compares to strawberry cake mix, but this was certainly delish! I used Strawberry-Lime Margarita. I didnt have whipped topping so I used a cream cheese frosting with Lime zest. Then just before serving, I topped it with a strawberry w/sugary juice. Yum Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gopintos

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: California, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2011
this recipe is AWESOME! i went with cupcakes since i love them and it's so fun to decorate them. i made them for a small cinco de mayo get together this year and they were a giant hit! i followed the directions listed, and used a few of the suggestions that other folks through out there like mixed the lime zest with sugar and adding lime juice to the batter (i did the juice from half a large lime and would like to use more next time). I also added fresh strawberry slices to top my cupcakes off. :) The sugared lime zest and fresh strawberries really make this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
I used the suggestions to add lime juice to the mix, 1/4 cup of water, 1 cup of margarita mix. Then for the frosting I added the margarita mix to the cool whip, and a dash of lime. I grated the lime, added it to large decorating sugar and squeezed a bit of lime juice in to flavor it. I made cupcakes so I actually "lined" the edge of the cupcake like a margarita glass. Very moist, and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rachel_K
Reviewed: May 22, 2010
The most common statement is that this cake tastes like BOXED Strawberry Cake.... YES, it does but WITHOUT the "artificial" after taste. It is still very good! I followed the recipe EXACTLY for the cake, and used my own "Lime Zest" frosting instead of whipped cream and it turned out wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel_K

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2010
Great! I made this for a potluck at work that was Mexican food theme. It was a huge hit! Everyone loved it and wants the recipe! Was easy to make, but found that I had to bake it a little longer than called for in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Balsam Lake, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Star Prairie, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
This was excellent! I tweaked mine a bit and added 1 tbs. lime juice to the water and it was a very nice blend! also made cupcakes instead of cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
I've made this several times - as a sheet cake. It's easy and delicious! I like to add sliced frozen strawberries (thawed) on top of the cool whip. Yummy! Always gets lots of compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States