Strawberry Margarita Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 23, 2001
The cake part tasted like a strawberry cake from a boxed cake mix. I would suggest just making a boxed strawberry cake mix and save the expense of the strawberry margarita drink mix. However, the whipped topping spread on top and sprinkled with fresh lime zest was very attractive and perfect for summertime! Looked impressive and tasted very refreshing and wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2001
I use applesauce instead of oil and this makes the cake very moist. This cake is requested often and I never have any leftovers!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2002
I really like this cake and my coworkers loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2003
I first made this for Father's Day (2002) and got rave reviews. I just made it last night for my monthly dinner group-more rave reviews! It's very light and moist - perfect after a "heavy" winter meal! I put strawberries cut in half on top of the frosting then cover with the zest. I promised to make this more often - my husband wants to take one to his office!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2004
Great cake, I agree a strawberry cake mix would probably be just as good. On the other hand, use the leftover strawberry margarita mix and make some margaritas, might as well. I had several requests for this recipe and will make it again. Easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2006
I made the recipe mostly as written, only a few changes made.. one, I increased the amount of Strawberry Margarita mix and decreased the amount of water, just by a little bit. I disagree that a boxed strawberry cake mix would be the same, or easier. For one thing, I could not find a strawberry cake mix when I shopped. And the margarita mix adds just that slight bit of tangy flavor that makes it taste, well, margarita-ish. The only other change I made was to add fresh halved strawberries on top. Oh, and I tossed the lime zest with a tiny tiny bit of sugar. The cake was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blackberry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2006
Sorry...did not care for this cake. The flavor of the Strawberry Margarita mix just was not great with the cake. And the cake mix was not altered enough to not TASTE like a boxed mix. The coolwhip as a frosting didn't go well either. Won't be making this one again. If I get the urge for a Strawberry-Lime type cake, I'll make a real Strawberry layer cake and put lime curd between the layers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Blythewood, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2007
This is a delicious cake. I've made it for parties and everyone wants the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2007
I like this recipe, however, I had a problem with the whipped topping. It was messy and didn't stick that well. I would recommend it but I would love to hear some other ideas about the topping. Lime Zest was great! It makes it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tara
Reviewed: May 7, 2007
This cake was simple to make, refreshing, and an overall hit at the Cinqo de Mayo party to which I brought it. Personally, I believed it could have been a bit less sweet and had a less "boxed" taste. I garnished with fresh stawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States