Strawberry Lemon Shortcake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
Only made the shortcake with strawberries. Very good with a hint of lemon. I used Redi-Whip and the shortcakes were gone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Xenia, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
This was delicious! the dough was actually crumbly rather than sticky so I added the egg white of the egg I used and it was much better. I could have done without the butter too b/c it made it super filling, but all in all this was easy to make and nice to eat :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Thornhill, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Soldotna, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
Yummy! I kind of skewed the recipe a little. I have such a hard time making recipes exactly the way the directions say. lol I didn't care for the idea of lemon BUTTER (I'm sure it's very good, just didn't sound good to me). So I made my own concoction... 1/4 C FF Yogurt, 1/4 C sour cream, 1 tblsp of Agave and the lemon zest and used that instead. I layered one tblsp of my lemon mixture then a tblsp of FF whip cream then the strawberries. YUM! My hubby was raving about it. We had it for dessert last night and then breakfast this morning. =D The lemon flavor does make it a whole new dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
Thought this was a great recipe,especially with the lemon butter,nice tang. I think next time, I'll add some vanilla to the whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mathgirl64

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Long Neck, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
I was skeptical when these were cooking. It took me 17 minutes before they were fully cooked and still did not brown as much as I wanted them to, however the taste was amazing. I omitted the zest from the dough, and used buttermilk instead of regular milk. I did use the lemon butter which was great because it prevented the shrotcakes from getting soggy. Had I used zest in the dough then i feel the lemon would have been to overpowering. The shortcake was pretty dense but very moist with a crisp outside. I don't normally like shortcake because its just to bland but these turned out awesome. Now if I can just get them to brown on the top better....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2011
This is a fantastic shortcake recipe. I did double it to serve four. I used half white/half wheat flour. I also used one egg rather than 2 egg yolks. It stood on it's own as far as the dessert no need for strawberries or whipped cream. I did not include the lemon butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
Wow! These were so yummy, and my family of 6 agreed! The touch of lemon gave it such a fresh flavor...I did cheat and use Cool whip to save on prep time :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by purpleheather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Westville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
I did not have lemon, so I changed the recipe to serve six people, and with those revised amounts of ingredients, I eliminated the lemon. It called for 1/2 C of milk plus one tablespoon. I eliminated the extra tablespoon of milk and instead used 1 tablespoon of grand marnier. I also flavored the butter with about two teaspoons of grand marnier (to three tablespoons of butter) and ommitted the lemon. If you are making your own whipped cream as suggested in the recipe, you can also flavor it with grand marnier to taste. It came out great! I am sure the original is great too, but I would suggest trying this version also as it adds an extra elegance to the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
The family loved this. Although my son asked that next time I make it into "a strawberry longcake" instead of a shortcake. He wanted seconds and we didn't have enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kennewick, Washington, USA
Living In: Northfield, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States