Strawberry Lemon Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2006
We love these muffins! I've tried with blueberries instead of strawberries, too, and that tastes good as well. You can substitute applesauce for the oil, splenda for the sugar and oatmeal for 1/4 of the white flour to make a healthier recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2007
I have made these muffins twice now, and there are two equally good variations of them. The original strawberry lemon, and blueberry orange. (substitute blueberries for strawberries, and orange juice for lemon juice), grate a little bit of zest to go over the top. Made a batch of these for my friend for her birthday too, and she really enjoyed them -even if they were a little burnt-. I can also see these being a big hit with kids too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Photo by TTV78
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
These were excellent! The fresh strawberries were so delicious in these muffins. I used a fresh-picked lemon from our tree and the combination of the lemon and strawberry flavors is just so nice! I used 1 1/4 cup all-purpose flour and 1/2 cup rolled oats instead of the wheat flour called for in the recipe b/c I didn't have any. It worked out great! This is a keeper for us! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TTV78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Milpitas, California, USA
Reviewed: May 1, 2012
I used lactose-free milk and I omitted the additional brown sugar. I was worried about not having enough liquid for these muffins because I've baked with whole wheat flour and it tends to soak up more liquid than AP flour. I did add one large mashed banana to help with that. Even with the additional banana, these did turn out a little dry. It could be that my lemon was a on the small side, you never really know. I would like to make these again and either add an additional egg or maybe a quarter cup so more of milk. As is, it's a good muffin recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2006
...Kids loved these muffins. I had a little over a cup of diced strawberries and sprinkled them with sugar to sweeten them up a bit and I also made a lemon glaze that I spooned on top once out of the oven. I thought they tasted better the next day after sitting in the fridge for a while...These tart little muffins are excellent with a tall glass of milk or hot cup of coffee...thanks for sharing such a nice recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LPHILLIPS9

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by msradha
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2006
Yummy! I was looking for lazy day muffin recipies and this one was great. The wheat flour stood out more than I expected. I used frozen strawberries that I sliced every which way and lemon juice instead of a zested and juiced lemon. It was a very light taste & great with cream cheese frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2007
Delicious and MOIST! I didn't deviate from the recipe at all (odd for me!) and they came out wonderful! What a nice way to use fresh strawberries! My 3 year old has been eating them for breakfast- fresh fruit and whole wheat flour- I love it when I find something that's sort of healthy that she actually likes! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COURTNEYGRIFF

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2006
This recipe was very easy and very delicious! I took my kids strawberry picking and we had some pretty ripe ones, so I needed a recipe to use the extra ripe ones in. I found this and it is a keeper! Additionally, I topped the muffins with a glaze of lemon juice and powdered sugar--made them extra tangy. Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
These were excellent! I didn't change anything other than double the recipe, which ended up making 24 regular size muffins and 24 mini-muffins. The flavor was really good. I will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by C.P.

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
This muffin had great flavor, but it was really dense. The taste testers didn't care for the texture especially after they cooled. We used all white flour, but didn't think that was a big factor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States