Strawberry Lemon Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2015
It would be better if the recipe gave an actual measurement for the lemon juice/zest. Since my lemon was rather large, the lemon flavor is quite pronounced. Flavor is good, texture very moist, but dense. Oddly, the muffins stuck badly to the paper liners.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by riri2
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2015
These were delicious and moist. I made these with a change coz I didn't have whole wheat flour on hand - Along with 1 cup of all purpose flour, I added 1 cup of oats (instead of 3/4 cup of whole wheat flour). I added the juice of one whole lemon which made these quite tangy and less sweet. For a good balance of both (especially for those who are not fond of very tangy muffins), I'd suggest adding the juice of only 1/2 or 3/4 a lemon. Oh and I used fresh strawberries which made these muffins even awesome-r in my opinion! Thanks for this recipe! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by riri2

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 5, 2015
I was out of wheat flour so I used all white flour (and added a bit extra). The muffins were nice and crunchy on top, while staying moist inside. I also sprinkled the strawberries with a bit of sugar so they wouldn't sink while baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
These came out perfect. I've made these twice and the last time I had to double the batch just so I could get a couple before they were devoured.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Mace

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: London, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2014
I followed the recipe and everything was exactly as I expected, tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
i followed the recipe as written with the exception of the flour - i used entirely white flour they were stodgy and gummy - didn't rise at all it seems. plus they were far too lemony. this could be because they were dense little hockey pucks, i don't know! anyway i don't know what happened but they did not turn out for me at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
There something more that the flavor needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
These were quite tasty, more tang than sweet which was nice to have with a cup of tea. They are best warm on day one as they got sticky and a bit mushy the days following. If I bake them again, I would fill the cups more than I usually do because they came out small, and I would add a bit of sugar on top before baking. Alternative my roommate suggested to topping with white sugar: top with a dusting of icing sugar once out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
Modifications I made: whole wheat flour and oats, sub applesauce no oil, and unsweetened almond milk instead of dairy. - mine turned out dense like some of the other reviewers had said... I also made a cream cheese, lemon glaze, I won't do that again. These would be better as a morning bread versus muffins...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
Awesome. Used 3 tbsp lemon juice and 1 1/4 cups chopped frozen strawberries, also subst. water instead of milk and used all purpose flour for the whole amount (no whole wheat flour) and they turned out beautifully moist and delicious! Lemon/icing sugar topping goes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States