Strawberry Lemon Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
These came out perfect. I've made these twice and the last time I had to double the batch just so I could get a couple before they were devoured.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Mace

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: London, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2014
I followed the recipe and everything was exactly as I expected, tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
i followed the recipe as written with the exception of the flour - i used entirely white flour they were stodgy and gummy - didn't rise at all it seems. plus they were far too lemony. this could be because they were dense little hockey pucks, i don't know! anyway i don't know what happened but they did not turn out for me at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
There something more that the flavor needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
These were quite tasty, more tang than sweet which was nice to have with a cup of tea. They are best warm on day one as they got sticky and a bit mushy the days following. If I bake them again, I would fill the cups more than I usually do because they came out small, and I would add a bit of sugar on top before baking. Alternative my roommate suggested to topping with white sugar: top with a dusting of icing sugar once out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
Modifications I made: whole wheat flour and oats, sub applesauce no oil, and unsweetened almond milk instead of dairy. - mine turned out dense like some of the other reviewers had said... I also made a cream cheese, lemon glaze, I won't do that again. These would be better as a morning bread versus muffins...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
Awesome. Used 3 tbsp lemon juice and 1 1/4 cups chopped frozen strawberries, also subst. water instead of milk and used all purpose flour for the whole amount (no whole wheat flour) and they turned out beautifully moist and delicious! Lemon/icing sugar topping goes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
These muffins are have a nice lemon flavor and good texture. We cut the sugar to 1/2 cup total and they came out fine. I'd use 1/4 cup white and 1/4 cup brown sugar next time and add 1/2 tsp nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
These were really tasty! My family loved them. My adjustments: I used buttermilk (personal preference of mine), and a tiny splash of lemon extract instead of the lemon juice. The lemon I zested was also pretty large. My strawberries weren't that sweet, so I tossed them in a little sugar before adding to the mixture. And I found the mixture lacked moisture (probably since I left out the lemon juice), so I added another splash of buttermilk at the end. 20 minutes was enough cooking time. Had a perfect lemon:strawberry flavor and were very moist. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Dee's Yummies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
I wanted to "health up" the muffins a little, so I reversed the quantities of flour (more ww than white), added 2 tbsp of ground flax and substituted applesauce for the oil. I'm a huge lemon fan, so I used the zest of two lemons to kick it up a notch. Muffins have a great flavor, but, I agree, a bit dense for my liking...certainly something I'll work on the next time around!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States