Strawberry Jam Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
Just finished a small batch, turned out great! I only used 3/4 lb. of strawbs, mashed 'em, sugared them to taste while boiling and don't forget the lemon juice, used about 1/2 tsp and it gave it THAT flavor--you'll know when you taste it while boiling it down. So good and so easy! Cherry jam--you're next!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
I usually like to give a recipe the benefit of the doubt when it's got such high reviews, but this time I wish I would have listened to the negative comments. I usually make the Ball strawberries freezer jam, but I wanted to try this recipe in hopes of freeing up some freezer space. I doubled this recipe (maybe that's where I went wrong?) but followed the instructions precisely. This recipe is WAY too sweet and doesn't have the thickness that I want.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
It was a pretty simple recipe, and first time I made jam. I added only 3 cups of sugar like others suggested, and it was perfect. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matt H

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
This is great! I'm trying to cut back on sugar so I used 2 cups of sugar and 1/2 the amount of lemon juice. It makes 3 cups this way. Thanks for the recipe and thanks for the footnote on testing for jelling. Very helpful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
I boiled it 15 minutes because I used half the amount of sugar. I did the plate test to see when it was ready and it worked perfectly. It's just like the jam my Mom used to make. I like this recipe because it makes a smaller amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
I only used 3 cups of sugar and I'm glad I did because it was definitely sweet enough. I might even only use 2 cups next time and see how it comes out. I don't think I boiled it long enough as it came out a little watery. It still tastes better than any jam from the store!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
Just made a batch of this and followed a previous poster's recommendation to add 3 cups of sugar instead of 4. My berries were a little on the tart side,and still, to split hairs, the jam is a bit too sweet, so 4 stars. I think it took longer to set and for some reason, I couldn't get it past 210 without it boiling over. When it reached 210, I started plate testing every 5 minutes, and it took 4 tries to get it to the right consistency. You have to watch it like a hawk, don't answer the phone or the door! Fantastic recipe. I ended up with five 250 ml jars. For beginners: Watch it like a hawk and don't be afraid to use 3 cups of sugar instead of 4. It was such a hit I am making another batch tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
It was a good recipe. I found it lacking in directions. After boiling for 10 minutes you do the plate test and it doesn't work. Then what? Boil some more?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina Pendley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cateris Paribus
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
I am a guy who doesn't know how to cook. On a whim I went and picked some strawberries and made jam with this recipe. Well, actually I ended up using half the amount of sugar as I didn't know how to measure with the cups in our kitchen! It turned out superb. So the only change I'd recommend is - use half the sugar!! :) Thank you for such a simple recipe that worked so well. It was easy and the jam is delicious. Can I use the same recipe for plums? Or do I need to search for a simple recipe like this one?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
Absolutely wonderful. Heat slow and follow the recipe to the letter. My family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bob

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Escanaba, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kankakee, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 485) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Strawberry Freezer Jam

See how to make super-simple strawberry freezer jam from scratch.

How to Make Strawberry Jam

This recipe for fresh jam couldn't be easier—just three basic ingredients!

How to Make Cranana Jam

See how to make delicious homemade jam with cranberries and bananas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States