Strawberry Jam Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
An awesome recipe. It was simple, easy and the jam tastes great. I did the plate in the freezer test after 10 minutes and the consistency was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JOSEPHINE ♥ ALLRECIPES
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
Tasty and easy. I think I need to cook it again because it's a little soupy still.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
I tried this recipe because I was going out of town and had a ton of strawberries that I didn't want to go to waste. I was in a rush and had no pectin, so decided to try this recipe. I should note that this was my first time attempting to make jam. However, a previous review states that this recipe is too lacking in detail- and I STRONGLY agree. I read a lot of the other reviews on this and realized how much I was missing. One I should have read though (wish I had read sooner!) was about gradually increasing the heat. I waited for the sugar to dissolve and then went full up to high heat. All looked great until about 8 minutes into my ten minutes. All of a sudden I had a black, bubbling, smelly mess. I had burnt my jam- burnt it real bad! I highly suggest gradually increasing the heat and going slow and steady- at about a 7 with an electric stove top (much prefer gas). Keep stirring and you will feel when it is thick enough. Basically only follow the ingredients on here and not much else...Additionally, if you do burn it, get the pot, spoon, spatula, whatever, and put it in the sink with HOT water and soap and start scrubbing because this burnt mess sticks to EVERYTHING, and, well, good luck getting it off...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
Great recipe! This is the first time I have made jam and it was super easy to do. I started with the burner on low and gradually increased the heat over about 30 minutes. The berries hit a rolling boil at medium-high heat. Luckily I do have a thermometer that goes up to 300 degrees, so I was able to use that to hit the perfect temp. It did take about 4-5 minutes to go from 217 to 221, and putting it on glass plates would have been a hassle seeing as you have to keep stirring, so I would highly recommend using a thermometer! I was able to fill 9 4oz mason jars with this recipe. I used a water bath to can 8 of them, and kept one out for immediate eating. Its been 12 hours and the jam is the perfect consistency! Not runny at all. Nice and thick actually. Will absolutely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
Never made jam ...never ever... Was out of organic sugar so I used organic brown sugar. Cut the sugar by 1 cup. Used a whole lemon rather than reconstituted. Totally amazing. For those who dont like it sweet use the white sugar. Very, very proud of myself. Sari
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AuntE
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
I really likes this recipe. Mostly because it didn't seem too sweet. Take your time getting it up to temp and it will all be just fine. My son said it was, "sooo good".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lyme, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
I tried this recipe and its great!i used fresh straberries we got from farm.my husband said it same as what her foster mom making.i just used 3 cups of granulated sugar and 4 cups of mashed strawberries.we are actually using the second batch I made,this time a big jar.will surely keep this recipe.thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
Thank you for a fabulous recipe! This tastes incredible and is so easy to make. My son loved it and did not believe I made it. The directions are a bit vague but I still ended up with some of the best jam ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
This was my first time making jam and it came out good. I only used 2 cups of sugar but it was still way too sweet and I used 5 cups fresh, crushed strawberries and only got 3 jars of jam (8 oz jars). It took about 45 minutes for it to get to 220 degrees and it seemed like it evaporated or something...did I cook it for too long?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
This recipe makes jam that tastes store-
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 475) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Strawberry Freezer Jam

See how to make super-simple strawberry freezer jam from scratch.

How to Make Strawberry Jam

This recipe for fresh jam couldn't be easier—just three basic ingredients!

How to Make Cranana Jam

See how to make delicious homemade jam with cranberries and bananas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States