Strawberry Jam Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2015
Exactly the technique I prefer. No reason to add pectin or anything to jellify the jam, it takes care of itself if cooked right. But this recipe had way too much sugar! 3lbs strawberries, 3 cups sugar, 1/4 cup lemon juice. Likewise, 2lbs strawberries should be 2 cups sugar. Anything more than 3lbs of strawberries will take too long to cook, but you can do less and be ok. Let the strawberries be the flavor, though, not the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fontana, California, USA
Living In: League City, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
Although I have canned and preserved, for over 60 years, I never made strawberry preserves, before. First, I put 4 pounds of hulled, washed, sliced strawberries, in my highest, stainless steel Cuisinart stock pot, and crushed them, with a potato masher. Second, I added 8 cups of white, granulated sugar, and a scant cup of freshly squeezed, strained lemon juice. Rather than stir it, I continued to mash the mixture, as it came to a rolling boil, when not covered, with the pot lid that I placed on top of a large, stainless steel splatter guard. Third, I washed and sterilized the jam and salsa jars, that I had, on hand, along with their lids, and my stainless steel funnel. Although I also processed the first filled jars, in boiling water, for 15 minutes, because I am giving the remaining ones, as gifts, to Grand Singers, e.g., our 6 directors and accompanists, at this afternoon's first, in place, full concert rehearsal, I skipped this step. Third, I stuck store bought labels, on top of each jar, that were filled out, with a black, extra fine Sharpie, saying, "Strawberry Preserves, from the Kitchen of Jeanine Seeley," before placing them into new brown sandwich bags, with a personalized thank you note stapled, to the folded-over top, of each one. Although these preserves were a tad sweet, and thin, they were relatively easy, to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
I just made this and it is so good! This is my first time making strawberry jam and I am definitely going to be using this recipe again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Angie Hall
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
Very simple recipe. Perfect for beginners!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie Hall

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JMCNIEL
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
2 tips. First, use a much much larger pot to cook the strawberry mix in. It bubbles up enormously and takes a good 20 minutes before it starts reducing. Second, use a thermometer that attaches to your pot. After 200, each degree higher changed the color and consistency of the jam. Without the thermometer you won't know when the magic 220 arrives. Made 2 1/2 12 oz jars. Tastes very rich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JMCNIEL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
I've used this recipe twice now, and it makes a jam with perfect consistency - I just add less sugar (about 2-3 cups). Also, I don't have a thermometer, so I used a hint that I found on a food blog to tell when the jam is ready to come off the stove. Put a plate in the freezer, and when you want to test the jam, drop a spoonful on the plate. If it doesn't run, and forms a film on top, the jam is ready.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amanda
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
This recipe did not call for pectin. Either way. I use pectin for a better jell. I use before I stir in sugar. I give the pectin time to cook then stir in sugar. Boil to rolling boil then time for 3 min. Test small dollop of jelly in freezer for 1-2 min. This will determine if you cooked your jelly/ jam long enough. Fill jars. Tighten lids, flip upside down 5 min. Turn upright wait for the lids to pop. Store in fidge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Bluff, California, USA
Living In: Los Molinos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
Just finished a small batch, turned out great! I only used 3/4 lb. of strawbs, mashed 'em, sugared them to taste while boiling and don't forget the lemon juice, used about 1/2 tsp and it gave it THAT flavor--you'll know when you taste it while boiling it down. So good and so easy! Cherry jam--you're next!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
I usually like to give a recipe the benefit of the doubt when it's got such high reviews, but this time I wish I would have listened to the negative comments. I usually make the Ball strawberries freezer jam, but I wanted to try this recipe in hopes of freeing up some freezer space. I doubled this recipe (maybe that's where I went wrong?) but followed the instructions precisely. This recipe is WAY too sweet and doesn't have the thickness that I want.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
It was a pretty simple recipe, and first time I made jam. I added only 3 cups of sugar like others suggested, and it was perfect. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matt H

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 492) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Strawberry Freezer Jam

See how to make super-simple strawberry freezer jam from scratch.

How to Make Strawberry Jam

This recipe for fresh jam couldn't be easier—just three basic ingredients!

How to Make Cranana Jam

See how to make delicious homemade jam with cranberries and bananas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States