Strawberry Jam Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
I offered to make jelly for my friends country wedding, and I used this recipe. I used frozen mix berries. I read through most of the comments, and did the following; used two cups of sugar, 1/8 cup of butter when it started to foam, the plate test, and using the rind, and turned jars upside down. I washed the jars in the dishwasher on the highest temp, and kept them on dry, to keep hot. It didn't foam, splatter or stick to the bottom. I stirred the whole time, was ready at the first plate test, which was about 15 minutes. It smelled amazing. I have to let other people taste it to see how it tastes, and set, but it was so easy I should be able to make 60 jars of jam in a day or two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
My first time attempting jam, and this was super easy! I followed the advice from other reviews regarding jar sterilization and everything turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
I don't have 2 pounds of strawberries, so I just halved the recipe. It still turned out great! I was really wishing I could make some fresh jam, not to be frozen or whatever, but rather just where we could have some today for lunch and supper, with maybe enough left over for toast in the morning. I didn't want to waste pectin for something short-term, but didn't know how to do it, until now. You can buy cheap jelly for less, but this will be fresh, and nothing added -- no artificial anything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
Reduced sugar to 3 cups and still too sweet. Boiled until it reached 220 degrees. Poured into hot jars and turned upside down to seal for about 15 minutes. Placed in fridge overnight to set. When I opened one jar to try it out it had become a thick completely un-spreadable chunk of jam. Have to warm it in the microwave to make it spreadable. Any ideas as to what went wrong?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
Yes I have tried this recipe and it was easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
Wow, very simple recipe for an old fashion Grandma jam...followed the recipe and Voila, Super Strawberry jam
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
best recipe EVER!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
love the recepie but my jam is so runny. HELP?? also i added some vanilla pudding and corn starch to make it more thick but i don't think it helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Set up perfectly after about 15-20 minutes of medium boil. (Use an oversized pot for sure, i couldnt do a full boil because mine wasnt big enough and popping boiling strawberry bubbles aren't fun). My first time making Jam. I listened to other reviewers and only used about 3/4 of the recipe sugar and i like sweet stuff but it still came out way far too sweet. Its edible I guess but If I make it again, i'll try 1/3 to 1/2 of the recipe sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
I made this recipe to give out as Christmas gifts. It was my first time making jam. Like other reviews said, I needed to cook it down longer so it would gel up once it was cool. I also put 1/4 of a lemon rind in it while it was cooking down to add some more natural pectin. This did help it to thicken up. I didn't use as much sugar as it called for. I used my food processor for the strawberries and 1 cup of sugar for every 2 cups of strawberries after they were chopped up. The jam turned out amazing. I will make it instead of buying from now on. I froze mine, so that saved a lot of the work of canning the jam that I kept for myself. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 485) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Strawberry Freezer Jam

See how to make super-simple strawberry freezer jam from scratch.

How to Make Strawberry Jam

This recipe for fresh jam couldn't be easier—just three basic ingredients!

How to Make Cranana Jam

See how to make delicious homemade jam with cranberries and bananas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States