Strawberry Jam Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: May 17, 2012
Very tasty recipe! I had 1 and 1/2 pounds of berries and I cut the sugar WAY back - to just 1 cup. Plenty sweet for our taste. I added a dash of vanilla bean paste for added flavor. Only fault was there was no direction given on processing time. I am new to canning so this would have been helpful. There is a chart for processing times and is based on your sea level. A simple search will tell you what your level is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
My sister and I have used this recipe two times now. I just opened a jar from last year and it is still just as delicious as it was last May! We LOVE this recipe. This year we did it with splenda and it was just as great! All we did was turn the jars upside down after putting on the lid. That seals the jar rather than going through another boiling bath.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
I used this recipe for my first attempt at making strawberry jam. It was delicious! The only thing I did differently was reduce the sugar to 3 cups, next time I would even use a bit less. I don't want to ever buy store bought strawberry jam again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
This was super easy, even without the use of a candy thermometer. Thanks for sharing this fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
220 F. I get it. Especially at high altitude a rolling boil will only make strawberry syrup. But the 220 degrees F reduces it so it thickens nicely. Thank you for this helpful tip! I made a half recipe and it worked great. A little too sweet for my taste; I will see if I can get it to thicken with less sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2012
Great recipe, doesn't need near the sugar that the recipe calls for. If you boil it hard and long enough, it sets up great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
Best jam I've ever had! This was my first time making jam and now I'm hooked! I followed other suggestions and used a food processor to mash the strawberries. I also reduced sugar to 3.5 cups. Keep in mind the sugar quantity you need may vary each time depending on the sweetness of the batch of strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
Yum! This was my first try with making jam and it was a great success!! I doubled the recipe and used about 5 cups of sugar (decreasing by 1.5 cups per recipe) and it was perfect! Tastes SO fresh and I love that it doesn't have any weird preservatives in it!! Will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
Loved it! Used just 3 cups of sugar. Have already make 12 jars of jam.....can't wait until peach season to use it on fresh picked peaches!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
This was the first strawberry jam I've made and it is the best I've ever tasted! Didn't think I would ever get it to 220 degrees, but it was worth the wait. I squeezed my own lemon juice, too. Perfectly delicious!! Will make more this weekend for Christmas presents--planning ahead. ; )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 496) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Strawberry Freezer Jam

See how to make super-simple strawberry freezer jam from scratch.

How to Make Strawberry Jam

This recipe for fresh jam couldn't be easier—just three basic ingredients!

How to Make Cranana Jam

See how to make delicious homemade jam with cranberries and bananas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States