Strawberry Jam Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: May 26, 2012
DELICIOUS!!! I frequently double this recipe! I always cut the sugar down (usually by about half) because the berries have such a delicious natural sweetness to them and the original recipe is too sweet. I tend to stir for about 45 minutes at a slight simmer...this slow cooking process gives it a wonderful natural jam-like consistency. The berries and lemon need lots of time to create a proper pectin. It really is worth the extra time! :) Perfect to give as gifts!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2012
I made it Yesterday and turn out great! I love it and is very easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
I really like this recipe. I've used it twice now. Here's one oddity, though. I don't know if it's because I live by the ocean, but a rolling boil happens for me at around 212 or 214. I get to 220 after around 10 or 15 minutes after rolling. On the bright side, 220 is the magic number--the jam comes out great if I cut it off then. As far as recipe tweaks, I cut the sugar back by about a third, go heavy on the lemon, and add a pinch of salt, cayenne & fine-ground black pepper. The savories aren't explicit in the final product, but I think they give the jam a nice depth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
Good and pretty easy - make sure you use a BIG pot, it nearly quadruples in volume while boiling. Even gentle stirring caused it to sputter out of the pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
Yummy and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lsarnp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garden City, New York, USA
Living In: Dodge City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2012
1/4 cup lemon juice was too much, the jam turned out a bit sour. A friend said that the problem was "putting the lemon juice with all the ingrediants and boiling it altogether is what was wrong, lemon juice should be added 5 min before you take the jam off fire". On the second hand yes it has too much sugar too..way too sweet, I regret not listening to the many people who flaged out this issue. The recipe should be calibrated according to the strawberries sweetness and sourness. Whatever it was.. my 6 pound batch turned out sweet & sour :( To the one's who got a thin texture I say go by "The wrinkle test" to achieve perfection of thickness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Beirut, Beirut, Lebanon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2012
Very tasty recipe! I had 1 and 1/2 pounds of berries and I cut the sugar WAY back - to just 1 cup. Plenty sweet for our taste. I added a dash of vanilla bean paste for added flavor. Only fault was there was no direction given on processing time. I am new to canning so this would have been helpful. There is a chart for processing times and is based on your sea level. A simple search will tell you what your level is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
My sister and I have used this recipe two times now. I just opened a jar from last year and it is still just as delicious as it was last May! We LOVE this recipe. This year we did it with splenda and it was just as great! All we did was turn the jars upside down after putting on the lid. That seals the jar rather than going through another boiling bath.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
I used this recipe for my first attempt at making strawberry jam. It was delicious! The only thing I did differently was reduce the sugar to 3 cups, next time I would even use a bit less. I don't want to ever buy store bought strawberry jam again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
This was super easy, even without the use of a candy thermometer. Thanks for sharing this fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 492) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Strawberry Freezer Jam

See how to make super-simple strawberry freezer jam from scratch.

How to Make Strawberry Jam

This recipe for fresh jam couldn't be easier—just three basic ingredients!

How to Make Cranana Jam

See how to make delicious homemade jam with cranberries and bananas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States