Strawberry Jam Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: May 29, 2012
Best recipe ever! I like that it doesn't use tons of sugar like the recipes with pectin. I used 2 1/2 c sugar and 1/8 c fresh squeezed lemon juice after reading some of the other reviews. I sliced the berries with an egg slicer. You can tell by the deep color it becomes that it is ready. The freezer test works great too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
This is so yummy! No pectin-I had everything at the house! Awesome!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
Super easy and perfect recipe as is. I have made this jam many times. I give the berries a quick pulse in the blender. I start the mixture on low to medium heat and gradually increase the temp to high. After it comes to a rolling boil I dial it back just a smidge. I use a thermometer to make sure it doesn't go over the temp, but since I read and used the tip about reducing until it's a deep maroon color I don't think I need it anymore. You can tell at that point that it's beginning to thicken. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
DELICIOUS!!! I frequently double this recipe! I always cut the sugar down (usually by about half) because the berries have such a delicious natural sweetness to them and the original recipe is too sweet. I tend to stir for about 45 minutes at a slight simmer...this slow cooking process gives it a wonderful natural jam-like consistency. The berries and lemon need lots of time to create a proper pectin. It really is worth the extra time! :) Perfect to give as gifts!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2012
I made it Yesterday and turn out great! I love it and is very easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
I really like this recipe. I've used it twice now. Here's one oddity, though. I don't know if it's because I live by the ocean, but a rolling boil happens for me at around 212 or 214. I get to 220 after around 10 or 15 minutes after rolling. On the bright side, 220 is the magic number--the jam comes out great if I cut it off then. As far as recipe tweaks, I cut the sugar back by about a third, go heavy on the lemon, and add a pinch of salt, cayenne & fine-ground black pepper. The savories aren't explicit in the final product, but I think they give the jam a nice depth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
Good and pretty easy - make sure you use a BIG pot, it nearly quadruples in volume while boiling. Even gentle stirring caused it to sputter out of the pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
Yummy and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lsarnp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garden City, New York, USA
Living In: Dodge City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2012
1/4 cup lemon juice was too much, the jam turned out a bit sour. A friend said that the problem was "putting the lemon juice with all the ingrediants and boiling it altogether is what was wrong, lemon juice should be added 5 min before you take the jam off fire". On the second hand yes it has too much sugar too..way too sweet, I regret not listening to the many people who flaged out this issue. The recipe should be calibrated according to the strawberries sweetness and sourness. Whatever it was.. my 6 pound batch turned out sweet & sour :( To the one's who got a thin texture I say go by "The wrinkle test" to achieve perfection of thickness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Beirut, Beirut, Lebanon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2012
Very tasty recipe! I had 1 and 1/2 pounds of berries and I cut the sugar WAY back - to just 1 cup. Plenty sweet for our taste. I added a dash of vanilla bean paste for added flavor. Only fault was there was no direction given on processing time. I am new to canning so this would have been helpful. There is a chart for processing times and is based on your sea level. A simple search will tell you what your level is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 485) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

How to Make Strawberry Freezer Jam

See how to make super-simple strawberry freezer jam from scratch.

How to Make Strawberry Jam

This recipe for fresh jam couldn't be easier—just three basic ingredients!

How to Make Cranana Jam

See how to make delicious homemade jam with cranberries and bananas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States