Strawberry Jam Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
This really, truly is a very easy recipe. My Girl Scouts made this after picking strawberries today. We halved the recipe for each girl, and she took home nearly a quart of jam. Even halving the recipe, it was still extremely sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
Just finished making this Jam very easy and taste great I just brought it to a boil and stir I also did the plate test at about 15 minutes and again at 20 minutes. I only used 3 cups of sugar. Thanks for the recipe yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
This is my 1st time making a jam that required canning (made freezer jam once). I love this recipe, its tasty, spreadable and easy! I dbld the recipe (sort of) I used 5lbs of strawberries (girls and I went picking) and 8 cups of sugar, and 1/2 cup lemon juice (half fresh half concentrate). I brought it to a boil ver slowly on low, and once it started boilling increased the temp to med and continued to let it boil (stirring occassionally) until it reached a temp of 220 (used an electric thermometer) and the plate method. My recipe made 4.5pints. Caution to those that want to rush this method, DON'T DO IT! Letting it gradually come to temp gave it this deep maroon color, and the strawberries broke down beautifully! I will def be making this again, and giving them as gifts!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hubbard, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
Best recipe ever! I like that it doesn't use tons of sugar like the recipes with pectin. I used 2 1/2 c sugar and 1/8 c fresh squeezed lemon juice after reading some of the other reviews. I sliced the berries with an egg slicer. You can tell by the deep color it becomes that it is ready. The freezer test works great too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
This is so yummy! No pectin-I had everything at the house! Awesome!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
Super easy and perfect recipe as is. I have made this jam many times. I give the berries a quick pulse in the blender. I start the mixture on low to medium heat and gradually increase the temp to high. After it comes to a rolling boil I dial it back just a smidge. I use a thermometer to make sure it doesn't go over the temp, but since I read and used the tip about reducing until it's a deep maroon color I don't think I need it anymore. You can tell at that point that it's beginning to thicken. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
DELICIOUS!!! I frequently double this recipe! I always cut the sugar down (usually by about half) because the berries have such a delicious natural sweetness to them and the original recipe is too sweet. I tend to stir for about 45 minutes at a slight simmer...this slow cooking process gives it a wonderful natural jam-like consistency. The berries and lemon need lots of time to create a proper pectin. It really is worth the extra time! :) Perfect to give as gifts!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2012
I made it Yesterday and turn out great! I love it and is very easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
I really like this recipe. I've used it twice now. Here's one oddity, though. I don't know if it's because I live by the ocean, but a rolling boil happens for me at around 212 or 214. I get to 220 after around 10 or 15 minutes after rolling. On the bright side, 220 is the magic number--the jam comes out great if I cut it off then. As far as recipe tweaks, I cut the sugar back by about a third, go heavy on the lemon, and add a pinch of salt, cayenne & fine-ground black pepper. The savories aren't explicit in the final product, but I think they give the jam a nice depth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
Good and pretty easy - make sure you use a BIG pot, it nearly quadruples in volume while boiling. Even gentle stirring caused it to sputter out of the pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 478) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Strawberry Freezer Jam

See how to make super-simple strawberry freezer jam from scratch.

How to Make Strawberry Jam

This recipe for fresh jam couldn't be easier—just three basic ingredients!

How to Make Cranana Jam

See how to make delicious homemade jam with cranberries and bananas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States