Strawberry Jam Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
Delicious taste! We tasted it out of the pot and loved the flavor. Easy to make.I'm waiting for the jam to set-it's been over 36 hours. Still thick shake consisitency at this point. Was wondering if it doesn't set is there any way to save this batch of jam? Also has anyone tried a sugar free version?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
The first time I made strawberry jam I used this recipe because I didn't have any pectin. It was the best strawberry jam I had ever tasted. Recently I tried this recipe again and it didn't congeal, so I poured it all back in the pot and added pectin. It was no where near the same in taste and consistency. It ended up more jelly-like without as much chunkiness. One problem was that I tried to double the recipe. This meant I should have used 8 cups of sugar, but I only had 7. It's doubtful this caused the problem because other people have successfully reduced the amount of sugar. Another problem is that in trying to make such a large batch at once, the jam bubbled over and created a huge mess. I moved it to a slightly larger pot and once again it bubbled over. I think that the inability to congeal resulted from the jam not cooking long enough. I used a thermometer and I was only able to get it to 103 before bubbling over. I will try this again, but I won't double the batch and I will mash the berries more thoroughly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
This was an awesome recipe!!! I followed several of the comments about lowering the amount of sugar to 3 cups and it turned out wonderfully. I have tried several Strawberry Jam recipes and my husband said that this is the best that I have made!!! I will be making this again!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
Perfect! Not a better strawberry jam out there. . (next time I will reduce the sugar by 3/4 or 1/2 cup.) My family LOVES it but its a bit too sweet for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
Best strawberry jam I've ever made! Making again today. (I did add a box of surejell to mine though) Still a nice soft set jam loading with color and flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
After roiling boil for over 45 minutes, still did not pass plate test. canning anyway. hope people like runny jam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
So good and so easy. Will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hourglasswman
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
Awesome! FYI, re: Boiling over. If you add about 1/2-1 tsp of butter to it before it boils it will not froth and/or boil over. If you MUST use a vegetable oil, add coconut oil or organic olive oil, but absolutely NOT margarine, canola or any other toxic rancid oil. Btw, I added only 3 cups sugar and it was plenty, and very coarsely mashed the strawberries for more of a preserves-type feel with strawberry chunks in it (we love that).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
Why would I ever buy store jam again? This recipe is BEYOND simple and amazing! I followed the instructions precisely and skipped the water bath process. I also boiled for about 13 minutes to get near the 220 degree mark. I placed the liquid into the jar and turned upside down for 10 minutes as others have suggested. Made Chef John's Buttermilk biscuits this morning and topped with the jam for a pre-Father's Day breakfast with my favorite old guy. A must try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fdparker2001
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
Very forgiving recipe. I tried tripling it... I used 10 cups of sugar to 12 cups of berries. Luckily I read the comments and used a huge pot because it almost boiled over. Then I didn't have the heat high enough and it was taking forever, but when I boiled it harder, it boiled down much quicker. It still hadn't reached 220 deg. but then it started to burn... I thought I had wrecked it. But it passed the freezer test so I stopped. Lo and behold it is delicious, thick, perfect jam!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 479) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Strawberry Freezer Jam

See how to make super-simple strawberry freezer jam from scratch.

How to Make Strawberry Jam

This recipe for fresh jam couldn't be easier—just three basic ingredients!

How to Make Cranana Jam

See how to make delicious homemade jam with cranberries and bananas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States