Strawberry Jam Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2015
Very easy recipe. I love making my own jelly and jams, tastes so much better then store bought. I do have to say that after reading the reviews that the only safe way to store jelly or jams without freezing is to waterbath them. Can use any pot as long as the jar is covered with 2 inches of water. Boil for 5-10 minutes. Easy and your jelly/jam will be safe for you and your family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakeland, Florida, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2015
Followed this recipe to a "T". I now have a lot of strawberry syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakewood, Washington, USA
Living In: Fircrest, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2015
I had scored some beautiful strawberries for $1/lb so looked for a recipe for jam with no pectin and this one popped up. It does take a bit of time for the berries to get to 220 degrees, but it's worth the wait. This made 3 1/2 pint jars. I did not process them but did boil the jars and lids. Filled to almost the top, put the lid and ring on and then turned upside down. After about 10 minutes, turned them right side up and they were all sealed. I'm still refrigerating the jars, but I feel confident they are sealed good. The jam is plenty sweet so I think the lemon juice just accentuates that good flavor. I'd make this again for sure!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2015
For those of you that don't have pectin or special jam supplies in your life...like me...and have run out of jelly for pb and j sandwiches for the kids...also like me...this was awesome! I was shocked that this actually worked and tasted perfect! Thank you for making me feel like a jam pro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2015
Same recipe but used Blackberries, Raspberries and Blueberries. Took longer than expected and never reached 220°. But it reached 214° and really started thickening. Then the temp started going down, slowly. I kept stirring till no more steam was coming out of the pot and did the dish test. PERFECT!!! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2015
(Update) I amwanting to give you guys this update. I totally didn't cook it long enough. This was the first time making Strawberry jam so it was all trial and error. After done pectin and boiling it and boiling, IT SET! My husband said now this taste like strawberry jam! :-):-):-) YAY! I changed the rating and saved this recipe. Original post : This recipe is way too sweet! My husband said the same. Something told me not to use so much sugar. I should have followed that instinct. Also I think it needs more strawberries because they cooked down quite a bit. Rather than throw it all away Im going to put the jam back into a pan and add more strawberries add a little water and add some pectin. Hopefully this helps. I am new at the whole jam making stuff so its all experimental until I find what I like
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy C. Adkins
Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2015
I took this recipe and used it as a base but turned around and added my own twist to it. SMOKED THEM! I skewered them and threw them on the smoker before following the recipe. Smoked strawberry jam is something amazingly delicious. Everybody that's tried it has loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by David Hill

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2015
so easy and yummy. my non-strawberry eater devours this stuff
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2015
Can you use Truvia or stevia instead of the sugar???? I would rate this very easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2015
I just made Strawberry Jam for the first time, and it was delicious! I did 5 cups of strawberries and only 2 cups of sugar. I did add a tablespoon of butter when it was boiling to reduce the foam. I had a hard time getting it to 220 degrees, so I just kept doing the plate test till it was the right consistency. Giving 4 stars instead of 5, because 4 cups of sugar would have been way to much! Good easy recipe that I will use again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 511) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Strawberry Freezer Jam

See how to make super-simple strawberry freezer jam from scratch.

How to Make Strawberry Jam

This recipe for fresh jam couldn't be easier—just three basic ingredients!

Supreme Strawberry Topping

Try this lightly sweetened fresh strawberry sauce!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States