Strawberry Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by Trisha
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
I followed the directions, and it came out great. I have a 1 1\2 quart ice cream maker, and it fit wounderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2009
This is very good if you want a basic, lovely strawberry ice cream recipe. I love to make ice cream and have been making it for many years. The only thing I would say is that you will need to stir your custard as it is heating. Remember to not let it boil! If you do not stir, your yolk will not properly incorporate and you will get cooked egg lumps. I imagine this is why she added the seive step. You will not need to draw it through a seive if you stir and keep the ingredients together. It will not take 5 minutes when you continually stir it. It is probably closer to about 15 to 20 before it coats the back of a spoon. It will give you a nice creamy texture and the ice cream will be very smooth. I promise! :) I also added fresh cut strawberries to the mixture at the last five minutes of my ice cream machine's cycle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Towson, Maryland, USA
Living In: Burke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
The taste of the berries was like nothing I can buy, and I USED to buy nothing but premium ice cream. Next time, I'll try using a bit less sugar. And believe it or not, using the best, most ripe berries made a big difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orange, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2008
My first time making Ice Cream and what a winner I selected for my first try. I followed the directions step by step and it was creamy, sweet and full of strawberry flavor from the fresh berries. This is a keeper and I'll make it often. Thanks! I made this again last night and used Whipping Cream and added a package for Frozen Strawberries in light syrup. It packed an awesome punch of strawberry flavor. A Must try
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nana's Favorite Dishes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
This was the best homemade ice cream my family has ever had...in fact, it was the best strawberry ice cream I've ever had. We did not strain the custard through a sieve, just put it straight into the berries. We also added a can of Sweetened Condensed Milk at the last minute just because it couldn't hurt. I would HIGHLY recommend this to anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
I made this recipe because I had extra strawberries and a new ice cream maker. I normally do not eat strawberry ice cream. This however was AMAZING! A great recipe. I did as someone else had suggested and pureed most of the strawberries and chopped the remained up so that there are chunks in the mix. Loved by all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2008
The first homemade ice cream I've ever made that I actually thought was better than store bought! My kids and I LOVED the bright, fresh berry flavor. It kept extremely well in the freezer - no ice crystals. It was almost a cross between the light fruit flavor of a sorbet, but still creamy like ice cream. We can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2008
Very berry good! I doubled the recipe and used frozen strawberries the I picked last summer. This won't last long in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
Creamy, full of flavor, and simply delicious. Don't be tempted to reduce the amount of strawberries, even while it may seem too much. The corn syrup acts as a stabilizer, and reduces crystalization, so I'll be curious to see how this ice cream fares after a few days--if it lasts that long! I used 1 c. heavy cream and 1/2 c. half and half (experience has proven I like that ratio best) and added 1 tsp. vanilla to the cooked custard. I pureed about 2/3 of the strawberries in the food processor, then added the remaining strawberries and pulsed just to chop them up a bit. It was the perfect combination. This is intensely strawberry with a beautiful, vibrant color. I am anxious to try this with raspberries and blueberries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
165 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
The best strawberry ice cream I've ever made. Granted, it's the only strawberry ice cream I've ever made, but it was fantastic! Just what I was hoping for-creamy and delicious! I pureed all but about 2/3 of the strawberries. The rest I mashed for some chunks. This one's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marlakay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kankakee, Illinois, USA
Living In: Portland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Strawberry Ice Cream

Just in time for summer! See how to make quick, simple strawberry ice cream.

Green Tea Mochi Ice Cream

See how to make green tea mochi-wrapped vanilla ice cream.

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States