Strawberry Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
Creamy, full of flavor, and simply delicious. Don't be tempted to reduce the amount of strawberries, even while it may seem too much. The corn syrup acts as a stabilizer, and reduces crystalization, so I'll be curious to see how this ice cream fares after a few days--if it lasts that long! I used 1 c. heavy cream and 1/2 c. half and half (experience has proven I like that ratio best) and added 1 tsp. vanilla to the cooked custard. I pureed about 2/3 of the strawberries in the food processor, then added the remaining strawberries and pulsed just to chop them up a bit. It was the perfect combination. This is intensely strawberry with a beautiful, vibrant color. I am anxious to try this with raspberries and blueberries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
149 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 17, 2009
This is very good if you want a basic, lovely strawberry ice cream recipe. I love to make ice cream and have been making it for many years. The only thing I would say is that you will need to stir your custard as it is heating. Remember to not let it boil! If you do not stir, your yolk will not properly incorporate and you will get cooked egg lumps. I imagine this is why she added the seive step. You will not need to draw it through a seive if you stir and keep the ingredients together. It will not take 5 minutes when you continually stir it. It is probably closer to about 15 to 20 before it coats the back of a spoon. It will give you a nice creamy texture and the ice cream will be very smooth. I promise! :) I also added fresh cut strawberries to the mixture at the last five minutes of my ice cream machine's cycle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Towson, Maryland, USA
Living In: Burke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
This is a very good, flavorful ice cream. I made a couple of changes for ease more than flavor, and a couple for flavor. For flavor, I added a tsp of vanilla extract to the berry puree. I used a ratio of 2/3 heavy cream to 1/3 half and half - this gives a better overall ice cream texture. For ease, I whisked the 1/3 part half and half with the egg yolks until it appeared completely mixed in, then added the sugar and corn syrup and stirred until desolved. I poured the mixture directly into a cold pot and added the cream, them whisked until completely blended. I heated over low heat, then once hot, increased the temp to medium low and cooked until mixture coated the back of a metal spoon. Doing this eliminates the need to strain, and also eliminates the possibility of your yolks turning into cooked egg bits. Adding corn syrup is great if the ice cream maker you are using has a metal mixing container. Many times the metal gets too cold and the mixture will stick to the insides like a sorbet. This did not happen with this recipe! I had perfect, flavorful ice cream. This recipe is also a good base for other flavors of ice cream, and not just of the berry variety. I definitely plan to experiment. We will use this recipe time and time again! It's a winner. Thank you to Christy J for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2003
Pretty good recipe. Next time I try this, I'll double the batch though. Too much effort to be all gone in just a couple of days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2007
A little too sweet, so I'll reduce the sugar by 1/4 cup next time ... and I used 1c. whole milk plus 1c. heavy cream for a slightly denser product. Came out good! I did just mash the berries, though, instead of pureeing them. I like the chunks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
I made this recipe because I had extra strawberries and a new ice cream maker. I normally do not eat strawberry ice cream. This however was AMAZING! A great recipe. I did as someone else had suggested and pureed most of the strawberries and chopped the remained up so that there are chunks in the mix. Loved by all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
The taste of the berries was like nothing I can buy, and I USED to buy nothing but premium ice cream. Next time, I'll try using a bit less sugar. And believe it or not, using the best, most ripe berries made a big difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orange, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2003
This is my first attempt at strawberry ice cream and so far it is delicious fresh out of the machine. Will have to see how hard it sets up and what the ice crystals are like after that. But a great way to use up the extra berries I had after a dinner I catered. Thanks, Christy J.!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2007
Excellent recipe! I changed a few things: 1/2 heavy cream and 1/2 half and half so it wouldn't be too rich. I also used 1/2 the strawberries (fresh). With those changes, it was fabulous!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2007
The best we have made at home! Very creamy and still just as creamy the day after. Absolutely no ice crystals and just a great ice cream. Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cocoa Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Easy Homemade Ice Cream

Cool off with quick-and-easy homemade ice cream—no ice cream maker required!

How to Make Ice Cream

See how easy it is to make America’s favorite frozen dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States