Strawberry Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 10, 2010
I am an ice cream -making novice so I'm not sure what the problem was, but I found the texture of this to be too foamy and almost oily-tasting in my mouth. From reading other comments I wonder if it would be better if I used part half and half or whole milk instead of all heavy cream. I followed the recipe closely except I didn't puree the strawberries (just mashed them thoroughly). Otherwise, the flavor was great-a little tart, not too sweet, very fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
EXCELLENT strawberry ice cream. My husband, who is a strawberry lover said it's in his top two ever. I may have added a bit more pureed strawberries, but otherwise left exactly as is described. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juliet M.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lkoeppen315

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Mateo, California, USA
Living In: Fullerton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
After searching around for a recipe that I had all the ingredients for, I decided to give this a try as a test for the KitchenAid mixer ice cream bowl + attachments that a friend loaned me. I was skeptical about the corn syrup, but the flavor of this coming out of the freezer bowl was really tasty. Like other reviewers, I reserved some the berries and just rough-chopped them and tossed them in at the end to add a textural element. Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CapreseStacy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fallbrook, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
Very good ice cream. I agree with the reviewer that said she would make a double batch. I used 1 cup cream and 1/2 cup half & half, and substituted a part of the corn syrup with vanilla syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
Oh my this was good! I followed the recipe, except used 1 c. heavy cream & 1/2 c. half & half (rather than all cream.) Mmmmm!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
Very good. A hit amongst my wife and two daughters. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bakersman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
This is a very good, flavorful ice cream. I made a couple of changes for ease more than flavor, and a couple for flavor. For flavor, I added a tsp of vanilla extract to the berry puree. I used a ratio of 2/3 heavy cream to 1/3 half and half - this gives a better overall ice cream texture. For ease, I whisked the 1/3 part half and half with the egg yolks until it appeared completely mixed in, then added the sugar and corn syrup and stirred until desolved. I poured the mixture directly into a cold pot and added the cream, them whisked until completely blended. I heated over low heat, then once hot, increased the temp to medium low and cooked until mixture coated the back of a metal spoon. Doing this eliminates the need to strain, and also eliminates the possibility of your yolks turning into cooked egg bits. Adding corn syrup is great if the ice cream maker you are using has a metal mixing container. Many times the metal gets too cold and the mixture will stick to the insides like a sorbet. This did not happen with this recipe! I had perfect, flavorful ice cream. This recipe is also a good base for other flavors of ice cream, and not just of the berry variety. I definitely plan to experiment. We will use this recipe time and time again! It's a winner. Thank you to Christy J for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Trisha
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
I followed the directions, and it came out great. I have a 1 1\2 quart ice cream maker, and it fit wounderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2009
This is very good if you want a basic, lovely strawberry ice cream recipe. I love to make ice cream and have been making it for many years. The only thing I would say is that you will need to stir your custard as it is heating. Remember to not let it boil! If you do not stir, your yolk will not properly incorporate and you will get cooked egg lumps. I imagine this is why she added the seive step. You will not need to draw it through a seive if you stir and keep the ingredients together. It will not take 5 minutes when you continually stir it. It is probably closer to about 15 to 20 before it coats the back of a spoon. It will give you a nice creamy texture and the ice cream will be very smooth. I promise! :) I also added fresh cut strawberries to the mixture at the last five minutes of my ice cream machine's cycle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Towson, Maryland, USA
Living In: Burke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Strawberry Ice Cream

Just in time for summer! See how to make quick, simple strawberry ice cream.

Green Tea Mochi Ice Cream

See how to make green tea mochi-wrapped vanilla ice cream.

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States