Strawberry Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
Very good ice cream. I agree with the reviewer that said she would make a double batch. I used 1 cup cream and 1/2 cup half & half, and substituted a part of the corn syrup with vanilla syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
Oh my this was good! I followed the recipe, except used 1 c. heavy cream & 1/2 c. half & half (rather than all cream.) Mmmmm!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
Very good. A hit amongst my wife and two daughters. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bakersman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
This is a very good, flavorful ice cream. I made a couple of changes for ease more than flavor, and a couple for flavor. For flavor, I added a tsp of vanilla extract to the berry puree. I used a ratio of 2/3 heavy cream to 1/3 half and half - this gives a better overall ice cream texture. For ease, I whisked the 1/3 part half and half with the egg yolks until it appeared completely mixed in, then added the sugar and corn syrup and stirred until desolved. I poured the mixture directly into a cold pot and added the cream, them whisked until completely blended. I heated over low heat, then once hot, increased the temp to medium low and cooked until mixture coated the back of a metal spoon. Doing this eliminates the need to strain, and also eliminates the possibility of your yolks turning into cooked egg bits. Adding corn syrup is great if the ice cream maker you are using has a metal mixing container. Many times the metal gets too cold and the mixture will stick to the insides like a sorbet. This did not happen with this recipe! I had perfect, flavorful ice cream. This recipe is also a good base for other flavors of ice cream, and not just of the berry variety. I definitely plan to experiment. We will use this recipe time and time again! It's a winner. Thank you to Christy J for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Trisha
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
I followed the directions, and it came out great. I have a 1 1\2 quart ice cream maker, and it fit wounderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2009
This is very good if you want a basic, lovely strawberry ice cream recipe. I love to make ice cream and have been making it for many years. The only thing I would say is that you will need to stir your custard as it is heating. Remember to not let it boil! If you do not stir, your yolk will not properly incorporate and you will get cooked egg lumps. I imagine this is why she added the seive step. You will not need to draw it through a seive if you stir and keep the ingredients together. It will not take 5 minutes when you continually stir it. It is probably closer to about 15 to 20 before it coats the back of a spoon. It will give you a nice creamy texture and the ice cream will be very smooth. I promise! :) I also added fresh cut strawberries to the mixture at the last five minutes of my ice cream machine's cycle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Towson, Maryland, USA
Living In: Burke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
The taste of the berries was like nothing I can buy, and I USED to buy nothing but premium ice cream. Next time, I'll try using a bit less sugar. And believe it or not, using the best, most ripe berries made a big difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orange, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2008
My first time making Ice Cream and what a winner I selected for my first try. I followed the directions step by step and it was creamy, sweet and full of strawberry flavor from the fresh berries. This is a keeper and I'll make it often. Thanks! I made this again last night and used Whipping Cream and added a package for Frozen Strawberries in light syrup. It packed an awesome punch of strawberry flavor. A Must try
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nana's Favorite Dishes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
This was the best homemade ice cream my family has ever had...in fact, it was the best strawberry ice cream I've ever had. We did not strain the custard through a sieve, just put it straight into the berries. We also added a can of Sweetened Condensed Milk at the last minute just because it couldn't hurt. I would HIGHLY recommend this to anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
I made this recipe because I had extra strawberries and a new ice cream maker. I normally do not eat strawberry ice cream. This however was AMAZING! A great recipe. I did as someone else had suggested and pureed most of the strawberries and chopped the remained up so that there are chunks in the mix. Loved by all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Strawberry Ice Cream

Just in time for summer! See how to make quick, simple strawberry ice cream.

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Easy Homemade Ice Cream

Cool off with quick-and-easy homemade ice cream—no ice cream maker required!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States