Strawberry Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
This stuff is WONDERFUL! I am not a fan of fruit ice creams but had a quart of strawberries to do something with and I haven't made ice cream all summer so this was the ticket. I truly believe ice cream needs to have egg yolks in it and again, this recipe fit the bill. I did not change this at all except to add about 1 t of vanilla to the finished mixture before freezing and I used the dairy products I had on hand which was half and half (about 1 cup) and skim milk (1/2 cup). I bet it is over the top delicious with heavy cream. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
I liked it, but I'll reduse the sugar to 1/4 cup. and no other sugar types.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
OMG! So easy and SOOO GOOD! I have a Cuisinart 2Qt ice cream maker...so it was all I could do to keep everyone's spoon out of the pot while it was churning. I did not strain anything, personally I'm not really sure what it meant to do that, so I just poured the creamed mix of egg and sugar (oh I substituted the sugar with Splenda for diabetic hubs) and corn syrup into the pureed strawberries. I chilled a few hours in the fridge and then placed into the ice cream maker. I just placed into the freezer so I wont know if the splenda will have any effect on ice crystals or not until later...if it lasts that long. Smooth creamy texture, doesn't have that filmy coat your mouth feeling and a tad bit sweet..but it all depends on the strawberry s mine were very ripe from the farm. I'm sure with store bought fresh strawberrys it may need that extra sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crispymommy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
Delicious! I tried this recipe twice twice, once as listed, and again by subbing some of the cream with half-and-half to try to reduce the fat content. Stick with the cream- even with the higher fat content, there were still some ice crystals after a couple nights in the freezer (which is obviously made worse by using half-and-half). This is such a flavorful, easy recipe with that great "summer" flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
Used rasberries instead because strawberries were out of season. use on large container. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
Super creamy, rich, and smooth, this strawberry ice cream exceeded my expectations! I used 4 cups of frozen strawberries which I thawed and they worked perfectly. The ice cream base is great for variations, chocolate, plain vanilla etc. I will be using this recipe from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
Delicious! I didn't have enough heavy cream, so my adaptation had a mix of heavy cream and milk so I just added another egg yolk, plus I added a dash of vanilla just because.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
Fantastic, creamy, flavorful and delicious! Why do we buy that processed, artificial drool sold in supermarkets today? I added shaved bakers semi-sweet chocolate toward the end of the churning/freezing process for the second batch and loved it. I think this will be a superb base for any flavor and can't wait to try a vanilla bean batch and a chocolate batch. Thanks Christy for this greatest of recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stevethecook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
good icecream turned out more like a sorbet I added freash strawberry pieces not a good idea I think that is what happen I will just keep playing with the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
The absolute BEST strawberry ice cream I've EVER had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri66

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Easy Homemade Ice Cream

Cool off with quick-and-easy homemade ice cream—no ice cream maker required!

How to Make Ice Cream

See how easy it is to make America’s favorite frozen dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States