Strawberry, Ginger and Mint Sekanjabin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
Worth trying. I use 1-2 TB in tall glass water. All friends who have tried it wanted the recipe. The sweet and vinegar is reminescent of switchel. Switchel was an old-time drink of molasses/vinegar/water brought out to the field hands while haying. Nicknamed "the haymaker"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
This was delicious! a perfect natural juice concentrate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
So amazing! I had never heard of Sekanjabin before, but I googled it and now I know...But anyway I was afraid to use the white balsamic vinegar, but it is SO GOOD! my 2 year old daughter loves it! It is perfect prepared as written. The strawberry taste is great. The store had Pear infused white balsamic as well as Raspberry infused for the same price and I think that may taste good as well. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: Tahlequah, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
I am gonna fiddle with this a bit more. It is a really good recipe. It reminds me of a mint julep. I am in need a of a version. Since a mint julep is basically bourbon well that's not all that easy. I am going to delete the strawberries and use lime instead of lemons, and use 1/4 cup regular balsamic and the rest white, but as is the color is almost spot on. It tastes so good. This is so refreshing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Burny

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
Great recipe and drink for the summer. I had grown mint in my aero garden, so I tried this recipe. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lockport, New York, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
Very flavourful. I made it with the same quantities, but my kids found the ginger nad lenmon flavour too strong, so I made the same thing (but a lesser quantity) omitting the lemon and ginger, let it rest overnight with the balsamic vinegar, and added this to the first sekanjabin. The result is a fuller strawberry flavour, with the wonderful after-taste of lemony-ginger. HMM! Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
This is wonderful. I was suprised by the vinegar but it prompted me to learn more about Sekanjabin. Thanks for a great recipe and cultural lesson.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2007
OK, I'm biased because I wrote this one, but I have to admit it's by far my summer favorite -- and my guests, too :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Magpie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Birmingham, Michigan, USA
Living In: Callaway, Virginia, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Shooters

Ripe strawberries filled with amaretto and whipped cream.

Strawberry Lemonade Cocktail

Watch a professional bartender mix a vodka strawberry lemonade.

Strawberry Shortcake Drink

Frozen strawberries, amaretto, ice cream and vodka blended into a cocktail.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States