Strawberry Freezer Jam Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
I found this much too sweet for my liking (and I like sweet things). My husband thought it was ok. Sorry, not a hit for us - will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
Very sweet but very good. I was afraid not skimp on sugar because I wanted to make sure it set, and it's sweeter than I normally would make things but still very good serviceable jam:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
I've been making it for years and years. it turns out wonderfully, just make sure to measure the berries AFTER crushing, and keep the measurements the same. also, make sure to boil the powder in the 3/4c water for 1 full minute and add to the jam while still hot! it helps dissolve any leftover crystals of sugar. a change to the recipe as stated here...STIR the jam with the added pectin for a full 3 minutes as well to dissolve even more sugar. don't just let it sit! it is a good recipe...makes killer strawberry milkshakes, and a great addition to smoothies too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OldFashionedFoodie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
Five stars for flavor - phenomenal! and ease of preparation. But I'm giving it four stars because the recipe is wrong. You need 4 cups of crushed strawberries. By the way, two pounds of strawberries after they're crushed yields exactly 4 cups. I too make it with the less sugar Sure Jell (in the pink box) and 3 cups of sugar. Comes out perfectly and I get 7 cups. Yes it is a soft-set jam. The only problem is I keep having to make it because we eat it up and friends keep asking for it LOL.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cookies
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
since I tried this recipe last year and it wasn't what I liked and hoped for ( end result was super sweet and gritty from sugar) I tried the "freezer jam pectine" this year and it's amazing in taste and texture. 1 1/2C. sugar for 4 Cups of CRUSHED berries! I got twelve 250ml jam jars from the recipe. THX
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookies
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
I changed it up and used splenda blend sugar instead of regular and added a little lemon juice for kick
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
This was my first time making jam, so I was a bit nervous about how it would turn out. However, it turned out great! Absolutely delcious. It is sweet, but I don't find it to be overly sweet. I followed the recipe exactly and was very pleased with the results. Reading a bunch of the reviews before trying it helped a lot too! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Glen Burnie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
I may not be being fair and reviewing this too early, but I just made it and it is sitting the 24 hrs in the jars to cool. The taste is good (although, I have to agree w/ the reviewers who said it's too sweet...next time I'll try the other pectin for reduced or no sugar jams), but I am not sure that it's going to thicken. Right now, it's VERY soupy, not even close to being jam-like. Perhaps the 24 hours is going to help, if it does, I'll update my review, but as for now, only 2 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by junger26

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
This was very easy the only reason it is a 4 star is it is a tad too sweet. I wonder if you could use a different natural sweetener? Or just a cup less sugar and it would still thicken up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela Sheppard
Home Town: Sexsmith, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2009
I used the low-sugar Sure Jell (changes: 4 c. fruit, 3 c. sugar), and the recipe is AWESOME. It makes me wish I had vanilla ice cream in the freezer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
242 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Strawberry Freezer Jam

See how to make super-simple strawberry freezer jam from scratch.

How to Make Strawberry Jam

This recipe for fresh jam couldn't be easier—just three basic ingredients!

Fresh Strawberry Sauce

See how to make a simple strawberry sauce for cheesecakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States